Jump to content



Photo

Rules halp and such


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 DerBarchen

DerBarchen

    Member

  • Members
  • 235 posts

Posted 27 April 2012 - 11:56 AM

Ok so 5 of us bought the core set and have had a few games and we have a few questions we hope you guys can anwser:

1. The tactics for Rob Stark that say "if you have a red order token and a valor order token every unit engaged with a friendly unit takes a hit" is that an instant hit? Does this ability depend on the ZOC of the comander who used the card?

2. How exactly does Toughness work? Does it ignore the first hit per turn? or per round? Or just every time the model with it takes a hit from a new source?

3. How do archers in melee work? Do they have mellee attacks at all? Do they get parting blows? Can they counterattack?



#2 vyrago

vyrago

    Member

  • Members
  • 109 posts

Posted 29 April 2012 - 04:15 PM

I'm no rules expert, but I'm a huge fan of this game.  I'll try to answer your questions.

 

1.  in this case, I believe that EVERY enemy unit on the board that is engaged (an engagement marker is present) takes an automatic hit, regardless of which commander issued the order.  *remember, only enemy units that have an engagment marker would take the hit.

2.  Toughness 1, for example would ignore the first hit rolled against that unit every time its attacked.  so even if that unit is attacked 3 times in a row, it would ignore the first hit of each attack. 

3.  archers dont 'exactly' have a melee attack.  when they attack, they make a ranged attack between 1 - 4 hexes using the "off-balance" keyword…so if they move they lose 1 attack dice.  They can counterattack and parting-blow normally. 

 

hope that helps! 



#3 KenToad

KenToad

    Member

  • Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 29 April 2012 - 06:08 PM

1. Tactics on Leadership Cards affect the entire board.  It was clarified as errata in the rulebook by the designer.

2. Toughness ignores the first hit of each attack.  Hits taken from retreats are considered part of the same attack and so would not trigger Toughness a second time.

3. Archers don't have melee attacks because they don't have the melee symbol on their Unit Reference Cards.  Even when they attack an adjacent target, no engagement token is placed and they never flank, but, yes, they counterattack and parting blow as normal.



#4 DerBarchen

DerBarchen

    Member

  • Members
  • 235 posts

Posted 30 April 2012 - 07:34 AM

 Thanks a lot, those were perfect explanations! As someone who has come over from Warhammer 40k all those rules seem super overpowered =P



#5 gen Zelgius

gen Zelgius

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 July 2014 - 12:49 AM

Hi,
please help. I play whit Lanister and have unit with cover. Stark unit already engaged it. Then Stark player useoabove mentioned tactic from Robs card before the command. What will happen whit my unit? Cover prevent the hit from tactic then cover is lost and when my unit is attacked this turn cannot use cover to ignor hit, or tactic is prevented and when is attacked whit Stark unit this turn cover prevent my unit once again. 10x in advance




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS