Jump to content



Photo

Alchemy Spell and Healing Spell


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Osbo25

Osbo25

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 23 April 2012 - 12:45 AM

Under "Spell Targets" in the Talisman FAQ it states, "Characters cannot cast Spells unless the Spells have a valid target.  Characters may not discard spells just to get rid of them.

The Alchemy Spell states, "Cast at the start of your turn, before you move.  Convert any number of objects you have into gold.  Discard the chosen and Objects and gain 1 gold for each."  Zero is a number.  Is it permissible to cast the Alchemy Spell on zero objects?

So also the Healing Spell states, "Cast as required.  By casting it on yourself or any other character the recipient is healed up to his life value."  If a character is at or above his life value, casting this spell on him would mean that he receives no additional lives.  It's the same as visiting the Healer or the Chapel (characters of Good alignment) or the Castle with the Prince or Princess while having the full complement of lives, is it not?

Would these be two instances where a spell may indeed be cast according to the wording of the cards without having any actual effect?



#2 Fogity

Fogity

    Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 23 April 2012 - 02:38 AM

As you rightly state, the alchemy spell does allow you to cast it without converting in the wording. If the FAQ does not address this issue I would say that you can decide it when playing, though I would rule it as not allowed for consistency (or contact John Goodenough).

In the latter case, or cases, you have to have less then your starting lives to be able to heal. This means you cannot cast the healing spell, nor can you visit the doctor in the city or healer in the village if you cannot heal any lives (the same way as you cannot visit the blacksmith without enough gold or alchemist without objects). At least in some cases this is made clear, in the others I look for consistency.



#3 talismanamsilat

talismanamsilat

    Talisman Veteran

  • Members
  • 1,317 posts

Posted 23 April 2012 - 03:46 AM

Osbo25 said:

Under "Spell Targets" in the Talisman FAQ it states, "Characters cannot cast Spells unless the Spells have a valid target.  Characters may not discard spells just to get rid of them.

The Alchemy Spell states, "Cast at the start of your turn, before you move.  Convert any number of objects you have into gold.  Discard the chosen and Objects and gain 1 gold for each."  Zero is a number.  Is it permissible to cast the Alchemy Spell on zero objects?

So also the Healing Spell states, "Cast as required.  By casting it on yourself or any other character the recipient is healed up to his life value."  If a character is at or above his life value, casting this spell on him would mean that he receives no additional lives.  It's the same as visiting the Healer or the Chapel (characters of Good alignment) or the Castle with the Prince or Princess while having the full complement of lives, is it not?

Would these be two instances where a spell may indeed be cast according to the wording of the cards without having any actual effect?

Regarding Alchemy: Convert any number of Objects you have into gold, means you have to convert at least 1 Object into gold.

Regarding Healing: This may only be cast if a character is below his life value. It is the same for a character visiting either the City Doctor or Village Healer.

So in answer to your question, no the Spell must have an effect.

Ell.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS