The First Regional of 2012 - Kingdom Con - Mini-Report

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 mathlete

mathlete

• Members
  • 160 posts

Posted 16 April 2012 - 07:31 PM

First off, HUGE PROPS to John Kraus (Deathjester26) and James Speck (Bronson) for running both the Melee and Joust events.  I've been playing this game for 10 years now and this one of the most fun and best supported Regional that I've ever been to.  Aside from the improved FFG support, John and James and Ross Thompson (coordinator of Kingdom Con), we had the best wooden House cards EVER!  Everyone received prizes just for showing up!  It was a blast!

Friday night's Melee was the best Melee tourney that I have ever played.  In all three swiss rounds, every player had a chance to win!  I actually came in first in all three of my Melee rounds, but at midnight, it was time to cut to a final 8, 2 groups of 4.  The first and second players in each group of 4 were to play in the final game.  I was too tired to continue and wanted to get enough rest for the Joust the next day, so I fropped.  Besides, it's just Melee! 

btw....we had 28 players for Melee and 32 for Joust.  A great start to Regional Season!

Now, onto the Joust report....

I had been playing a Martell Maesters deck and a Greyjoy Winter deck for months. I had success with both decks at local tourneys.  I knew these decks inside-out and had decided on the Greyjoy Winter, but a friends didn't have a deck that was "legal" (it had a lot of proxies) and he loves Greyjoy Winter, so I let him play that deck.  I didn't want to play Maesters, so I played a Martell - Knights of the Hollow Hill deck that I had built 10 days earlier.  I only played 4 games with the deck (only 1 in its final form) but I figured that I'd have 3 more chances at Regionals this tourney season, so I played my new Martell deck.