I've been asked to post this one:
Someone was Dee and used her "Fast Learner" OPG which allows her to take three cards and either add them to the skill check or into her hand. According to the BGG FAQ I've seen, the BSG people say her power comes into effect at the same time as Reckless cards are played. If she wants to add them to the Skill Check, they are "set aside for the moment" and then added after the destiny cards are added. In most cases, this is more or less right away. THEN all players play skill cards as usual. Now, some people argued that if Dee added the cards to her hand instead of the skill check, she should not be able to add any of those new cards to the skill set, that they should instead also be "set aside" until afterward. The reasoning seemed to be that Dee's OPG really makes no sense (to them) as written: Why would anyone ever not just add the cards to their hand and decide what to do in the later regular skill check contribution? No, they argued, this makes no sense, therefore, Dee must either add all three cards right away or keep them... "all or nothing." I argued that there was no reason to believe it was all or nothing and pretty clear that Dee just got three extra cards to decide what to do with - all three right up front or as many as she wished later in the skill check contribution. There could be many reasons to play them all right away (to make an early statement to other players about where you stand, because you're in the brig, etc).