Jump to content



Photo

"Unexpected courage" question


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 C4libr3

C4libr3

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 06:14 PM

 Please, i'm need a help.

 A hero atached with "unexpected courage" can't atack twice or, defend and atack, in same combat fase, because the action window open

before a enemies atack and again only after a player resolve all atacks against his enemies. This is right? If yes a played wrong all my games.



#2 Angus Lee

Angus Lee

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 14 April 2012 - 06:35 PM

Actually, the whole combat phase, except the "Deal 1 shadow card to each enemy" phase, are in green in the Turn Sequence chart in the rulebook (P.30 - 31), meaning that "Any player can take actions generally, or between the game steps stated in the rules".  So you can take player actions in between the various combat steps.  Therefore, you can use Unexpected Courage to ready a hero to, say, defend and then attack.


Once ... Always ...

My blog (in Simplified Chinese): http://blog.sina.com/b0ardgames

#3 C4libr3

C4libr3

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 15 April 2012 - 02:58 AM

 Thanks. 



#4 Rashley

Rashley

    Member

  • Members
  • 247 posts

Posted 16 April 2012 - 07:00 AM

Don't forget that you can also 'attack', then 'ready', then 'attack' again as well.  However, the rules specifically state that a character cannot 'attack' the same enemy card twice in the same phase.  Yes, 'Unexpected Courage' is one of the best attachments in the game.  Shame there was only 1 in the Core Set.  You have to beg, borrow or steal extras unless you can afford a big games budget.  Cheers!



#5 Budgernaut

Budgernaut

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,441 posts

Posted 16 April 2012 - 07:11 AM

 A nit-picky clarification, but an important one: each player may attack an enemy with which he is engaged only once each round.

Not only does this mean Gimli can't attack the Hill Troll twice, but two Mirkwood Runners also can't attack the Hill Troll separately in the same round, dealing 4 damage. They'd have to attack together for 1 damage or only one would attack for two damage (since they bypass defense when attacking alone).


"There is a fine line between neutral and amoral. In fact, there may be no line there at all."

--Count Dooku





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS