Jump to content



Photo

Question about Doran Martell and the Fiefdoms track


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Seether00

Seether00

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 04:15 AM

Hi so my group has played a couple of games and this situation came up and we had couple of questions. Basically there was a combat and the Doran Martell House card was played and the Martell player wanted to drop the opponent to the bottom the Fiefdoms track.

So here are our questions

1. If there was a tie and Martell is now higher on the fiefdoms, do they win this combat?

2. Can the opposing house still play the Valayrian steel or does he immediately lose it before getting to use it?

3. If the Valayrian steel was already used but gets passed to another house due to Doren ability does the new owner get to use it during that round or is he stuck till the next round?

 

Thanks in advance

Seether00



#2 jhagen

jhagen

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 09:58 AM


So here are the answers:


1. If there was a tie and Martell is now higher on the fiefdoms, do they win this combat?
 

- YES. the Effect and change is immediate.


2. Can the opposing house still play the Valayrian steel or does he immediately lose it before getting to use it?

-YES. Blade is used at the end of combat, so it has not been used yet.

3. If the Valayrian steel was already used but gets passed to another house due to Doren ability does the new owner get to use it during that round or is he stuck till the next round?
 
 -There is an equally powerful argument for both. You may choose which one to use:

-NO, the blade has been used this turn and may only be used once this turn.

-YES, a player may only use the blade once per turn, and THIS player has not used it yet THIS turn.
 
"The player holding the Valyrian Steel Blade token may, once
per game round, use the token in combat to grant himself a +1
Combat Strength bonus."



#3 Seether00

Seether00

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 16 April 2012 - 10:13 AM

Thanks for the response. Just need a little clarification on

 

2. Can the opposing house still play the Valayrian steel or does he immediately lose it before getting to use it?

-YES. Blade is used at the end of combat, so it has not been used yet.

Do you mean that even if I get moved to bottom of fiefdoms I can still use the +1 strength and then after combat give up the blade?

 

-Seether00

 



#4 Decathexis

Decathexis

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 April 2012 - 06:05 PM

"Whenever a player shifts position on an Influence track
due to such special circumstance, all other players must adjust
accordingly. For example, if one player is required to shift to the
highest position on a track (the “1” position), the current player in
that position must shift backwards to the “2” position, etc. If such a
shift would cause a player to lose the “1” position on any track,
he must immediately give the corresponding Dominance token
(in the same state it was in, used or available) to the new player
inhabiting the “1” position.
" - Rulebook p.27



#5 Enrick Frostbite

Enrick Frostbite

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 August 2012 - 01:38 PM

Seether00 said:

Thanks for the response. Just need a little clarification on

 

2. Can the opposing house still play the Valayrian steel or does he immediately lose it before getting to use it?

-YES. Blade is used at the end of combat, so it has not been used yet.

Do you mean that even if I get moved to bottom of fiefdoms I can still use the +1 strength and then after combat give up the blade?

 

-Seether00

 

 

No. You can no longer use the Valyrian Steel since it is immediately given to the person on top of the fiefdoms track.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS