Jump to content



Photo

Harvesting coins


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Daneelck

Daneelck

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 April 2012 - 03:26 PM

The groupd I'm playing with has a disagreement about coins on the map.  Can someone definitively answer two questions:

1.  Can a city or scout harvest a coin on the map?  As in add coin every turn during city management if harvesting.

2.  Is there a section of the rules that spell this out or an official ruling somewhere I can reference to support the answer to #1?

Thanks



#2 Ringarin

Ringarin

    Member

  • Members
  • 95 posts

Posted 22 April 2012 - 05:56 PM

1- yes

2- last sentence before the picture on page 26 under scout gathering. The city benefits from all trade, production and other icons for the rest of your turn.



#3 Ringarin

Ringarin

    Member

  • Members
  • 95 posts

Posted 22 April 2012 - 05:57 PM

1- yes

2- last sentence before the picture on page 26 under scout gathering. The city benefits from all trade, production and other icons for the rest of your turn.



#4 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 557 posts

Posted 23 April 2012 - 12:01 AM

I'm afraid that Ringarin is wrong on this one.

1 - No you cannot harvest coins. This is due to the fact that the HARVEST city action only allows you to get one RESOURCE (wheat, incense, silk or iron) available to the city. Coins are not considered to be resources. You simply have one more coin on your civ sheet dial as long as you have a scout standing on it or a city whith it in its outskirts. If, for whatever reason, the scout moves away (for example if you need something else more or it is killed) from the printed coin or the city is destroyed, your coin count immediatley goes down by one.

2 - See "Map Tile and Icon Breakdown" on page 7 of the base rulebook for a list of what is considered resources and what is not. Also see "Coins on the Map", bottom left of page 26.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#5 Darkeus

Darkeus

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 26 May 2012 - 05:19 AM

Thanks, I have been looking for this answer! We just had a dispute about this very rule last time we played.  If I am reading this right, a coin only counts once.  It cannot be continuously harvested like a resource.  How the heck do people get easy economic victories?

So, to expand on this question. 

In the Fame and Fortune expansion, you can invest coins.  Those coins do not count towards an economic victory.  So, the question is:  If a player has a scout on a coin, then uses that coin to invest, is that coin gone forever then?
 



#6 Piotrek

Piotrek

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 28 May 2012 - 09:40 AM

Darkeus said:

If a player has a scout on a coin, then uses that coin to invest, is that coin gone forever then?
You can only invest a coin token. If your scout sends coin to city this only increases (by one and as long as square with coin belongs* to some of your cites) number of coins on economy dial, but doesn't give you a coin token.

* square belongs to your city if it lays on the outskirt of the city or if your scout stays on that square and you decided during Start of Turn phase to send the square to your certain city.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS