Jump to content



Photo

Already casted spells when devoured?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 mborda

mborda

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 09 April 2012 - 02:25 AM

 What happen to casted spells when a player is devoured?

Do they get discarded? Or they remain played with the dice on it?

 

Thanks!



#2 xris

xris

    Member

  • Members
  • 140 posts

Posted 09 April 2012 - 02:39 AM

mborda said:

 What happen to casted spells when a player is devoured?

Do they get discarded? Or they remain played with the dice on it?

 

Thanks!

The rules do not say one way or the other. You will have to decide for yourself how to play this.

Personally, I would say the Spell remains until used.



#3 MaddockKrug

MaddockKrug

    Member

  • Members
  • 203 posts

Posted 09 April 2012 - 04:44 AM

Hi.

 

Let me quote the rules:

pg. 9:

Spell: Most Spells allow a player to place the spell card next to the
play area
immediately before any roll of the dice.
...
a die on this card remains on it until it is used
to complete a task.

pg 10
A die may remain on a Spell card for any number of turns
before being used.
The active player may always use a die on a
Spell card
to complete a task regardless of who played the Spell.
Once all dice on the card have been used to complete a task,
the Spell card is then returned face down to the bottom of the
Spell deck.

pg 11
Being Devoured

If an investigator’s Sanity, Stamina, or both are reduced to 0 or
less, he is devoured. When an investigator is devoured, add 1
Doom token to the Doom track and return the Investigator card
and marker to the box. Then take all of his items, Allies, and
any Adventure cards he claimed as trophies and return them
facedown to the bottoms of their corresponding decks.
 

I agree with xris: The rules don't specifically mention what would happen with the spell.

I would argue: Since the spell is already cast and in power for as long as the die is not being used, as long it is part of the play area, so it does not belong to the original owner of this spell anymore.

 

All the best!

Mad


For GM: Mad's Adventure, Adventure Hooks, NPCs, and Locations - same at RPGGEEK

 

SW, to me, is a Spaghetti Western with space ships for horses. No matter what you do it causes a problem.  You just might save the day.  Crazy heroics and adventure!

 


#4 xris

xris

    Member

  • Members
  • 140 posts

Posted 09 April 2012 - 08:00 AM

MaddockKrug said:

I agree with xris: The rules don't specifically mention what would happen with the spell.

I would argue: Since the spell is already cast and in power for as long as the die is not being used, as long it is part of the play area, so it does not belong to the original owner of this spell anymore.

Yup, that is the exact line of logic I would use as well.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS