Jump to content



Photo

In the middle of an Adventure > terror > doom > GOO awakens ...


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 MaddockKrug

MaddockKrug

    Member

  • Members
  • 203 posts

Posted 03 April 2012 - 10:45 AM

Hi.

 

Today I had a weird experience with my ES session.

I played Mr. Darrel Simmons against Shub Niggurath. And I was on the adventure "Please Do Not Touch The Exhbits" with an Cultist on it.

When I attacked the Cultist, everything was fine. I defeated the Cultist, but was not yet done with the adventure.

When I started to work on the tasks of the adventure, I ran twice into a failed attempt to solve a task; and to make it worse: the fails were "terror fails", activating the "Terror-result" on the card:

Add a Doom token to the Doom track.

Since these two Doom tokens let the GOO awaken (Shub Niggurath), my investigator was drawn to the Great Old One.

And it was in the middle of solving the adventure, the part with gaining reward or suffering defeat did not take place.

But what would happen with the (already) defeated cultist/monster? Would it be considered part of my trophies? Or would it be just a "missed this one"/ "bad luck for you"?

 

All the best!

Mad


For GM: Mad's Adventure, Adventure Hooks, NPCs, and Locations - same at RPGGEEK

 

SW, to me, is a Spaghetti Western with space ships for horses. No matter what you do it causes a problem.  You just might save the day.  Crazy heroics and adventure!

 


#2 MaddockKrug

MaddockKrug

    Member

  • Members
  • 203 posts

Posted 03 April 2012 - 11:00 PM

Hi.

 

Problem (probably) solved: Although I defeated the monster, the adventure as such was not finally resolved; since this sub-step did not occur, I would not receive the monster-trophy.

 

But it was tricky to understand that. Let's take a look at the rules, shall we?

Rulebook pg 11 left column paragraph 3:

If a player successfully completed one or more tasks on a Monster marker before failing to resolve the Adventure card it is on, he still gains the Monster marker, ...

That is why I thought: OK, I was drawn away from the adventure before I resolved it, but before I was drawn away, I defeated the monster. So basically I failed to resolve the Adventure card, but still I would gain the trophy. But ...

Rulebook pg 11 left column paragraph 3:

He does this [i.e. gain the trophy] before suffering the penalties for failing to resolves the Adventure card.

First of all this may be understood in the same way as the first quote; but it could also be understand like this: The gain of the monster trophy is directly linked with the procedure of the rewards/ penalties of the adventure. So the question is: How should this be answered?

The following rule solves this issue and answers the question:

Rilebook pg 11 left column paragraph 2:

Once an investigator resolves and Adventure card with a Monster marker on it, ...

This means: As long as the investigator did not finish or complete the current adventure, the monster (whether defeated or not) remains on the adventure card. This also concludes that, if an investigator immediately (pg. 11 right column paragraph 6) gets moved to the GOO before finishing this particular adventure with the dead monster on it, he won't receive the monster marker as trophy.

 

All the best!

Mad


For GM: Mad's Adventure, Adventure Hooks, NPCs, and Locations - same at RPGGEEK

 

SW, to me, is a Spaghetti Western with space ships for horses. No matter what you do it causes a problem.  You just might save the day.  Crazy heroics and adventure!

 





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS