Jump to content



Photo

Question about Autodefense Turrets


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Sean Mathis

Sean Mathis

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 February 2009 - 07:41 AM

The technology for Autodefense turrets says that Destroyers get +2 and have 1 extra dice for Anti-fighter barrage.

The question is: is the +2 for all of their roles or only for anti-fighter barrage?  I can see arguments on both sides, but the tech is just vague enough to allow either interpretation.  My main concern with giving Destroyers a +2 in general is that it makes them as effective as Cruisers in space combat for their combat rolls, half the price, and with the added benefit of being able to roll 3 dice in the anti-fighter barrage.

Has this question been raised before?  Does anyone else have an opinion on the matter?

Thanks in advance. 



#2 Beren_Erchamion

Beren_Erchamion

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts

Posted 08 February 2009 - 10:49 AM

Just a heads up that you should use the Search for looking up things like this before posting a new thread.

 

From Page 2:

http://new.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=34&efcid=1&efidt=58935

 

There is the discussion of ADT. It adds +2 to the AFB roll, NOT to combat.



#3 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,694 posts

Posted 08 February 2009 - 04:56 PM

For what it's worth, though, the Search function on these forums is horrendous.  Unless you know exactly what you are searching for, it's a pain.  I really don't want to see this forum turn into one of those "you'd better do an exhaustive search before even daring to ask a question" forums; those tend to be very elitist and anti-newbie, which is definitely not good.  I left the forums of another game because of that attitude (and I wasn't one of the newbies either).

Anyway, as Beren says, the +2 and the extra die only apply to the AFB roll.  One way to look at is this:  If you remove references to the AFB from the card, it simply says "+2" - it doesn't say WHAT the +2 would apply to.  Movement?  Combat?  Resource Cost?  AC cards drawn?  It may seem "easy" to assume it means Combat, but since without the AFB reference, there's no mention of combat, the only grammatically correct and logical conclusion (which is also the correct one) is that ADT applies in it's entirity ONLY to AFB, and not at all to anything else.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS