Good afternoon, team!
I've only recently begun playing LOTR:TCG with my wife, just using the box set. We'll be getting everything shortly, so I can start deck building in earnest. There are some things I'm really fuzzy on, even having read teh r00lz0rz, the FAQs and this forum, and I'm hoping I can get a clean breakdown from one of you fine folk. In no particular order, we'll start with the two I'm certain are straightforward (and please forgive me, as IDHMDIFOM) --
Basic Card Question:
Core Set: There is a card that requires it be exhausted to function. This was a o.0 moment for me, as I couldn't understand how the Attachment would exhaust independently of its user, unless the intent is that the Character (say, Boromir) can exhaust it independently of his own action. In which case, if the character is exhausted, can they still use the card? That one threw me.
Card has a cost of X (literally, X). I'm assuming that X = number of resources I'm willing to devote to it, ala MTG?
A card deals X damage upon meeting Y effect (non combat). I'm assuming Defenses do not apply? For example...
Hummerhorns: Deal 5 damage when they Engage an enemy. If they engage, then 5 damage is dealt regardless of defense, am I correct?
Hummerhorns: Deal 5 damage when they Engage an enemy. If I engage them first, I'm figuring this effect is bypassed, since they never made and subsequently passed an Engagement Check, and their special effect of "SURPRISE!" is then sidestepped, as my heroes approach them prepared.
Combat (*drools quietly in a corner while trying to understand this part*)
The core of what I'm asking is: based on my reading of the roo-elz to this point, only my party can attack the enemies with which I am engaged. This is making combat frustrating and nerve wracking, since it seems there's no co-op in my combat, which would sort of defeat the purpose of a cooperative game. To that end:
Please clarify in plain English the whole player declare/character attack thing. It has me completely lost. I keep reading y'all discuss it at length but it isn't sinking in and I haven't seen any reference to it in the rules themselves.
Please, also, clarify "Ranged," and what it means. Is it similar to Death Angel where a character with Range can reach across the table to support the other player's party (or parties)? Once that character attacks, regardless of where that attack goes, they are again exhausted and would need to be Readied once more to engage, correct? There was a bit where someone got a Sword of Someone or Other and they could consistently re-ready with another effect, "letting them kill lots of monsters." I'm a combat guy. I want a deep combat experience. Help.
Booored noted (perhaps erroneously) that one Character can only make one attack against one given monster per turn; I'm assuming that Legolas can only attack Cave Troll once, Naz-Gul once, and so on. Is this correct? I'm beginning to understand that the combat is not as cut & dried as "my power, your def, take damage" but from where I am, it still seems like I can only engage opponents threatening me, thus removing a lot of the "co-op" from my co-op.
That's my opening salvo. Any and all help is appreciated!