Jump to content



Photo

My best bluff so far!!


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Jack-in-the-Box

Jack-in-the-Box

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 19 March 2012 - 02:07 PM

So I was playing cosmic a few days ago, and for the first time I faced one of that decisive moments when you need to outsmart your opponent or lose.
It was a 5 player game; I was the Reserve while the other players were Remora, Sniveler, Oracle and Virus. Everybody had 3 colonies except Remora which had 4, and it was his turn. He drew the destiny: Wild, and he was deciding between me and the Oracle. I tried to persuade him to attack the Oracle because I had only one card in hand, which meant I would probably draw a fresh new hand when if he attacked me.


Unfortunately my planets were weaker (they only had 1or 2 ships) so he pointed the Hyperspace Gate at me, and I tough "oh great, now the game is over" for the only card that was in my hand was a negotiate.


If I didn’t do nothing I was surely going to lose so I made a desperate move. He sent four ships and asked for any allies knowing that he wouldn’t get anyone. I called everybody to help me. Some put only one or two ships so I told them that if they didn’t put 4 we were going to lose. The maximized they help and I got all the help that was possible. The first step of my plan was ready.


Then came the bigger problem: the cards. Luckily I saw that Remora became a bit intimidated by the amount of power I had gathered, he looked a bit troubled. Maybe he couldn’t outnumber me, but still, I had only a negotiate.

 
I wasn’t sure that this would work but I had to take the risk. I turned to him and said  “look is probable that the card in my hand is a morph and I  have more ships than yours, so if you don’t want to lose you better play a negotiate. He said okay and played his card then I played mine, and I still was thinking that wouldn’t work, but when the cards were revealed he really played a negotiate card. I gave him some cards when I got a new hand and it was done.
I had never been so close to losing and miraculously recovering, it was a wonderful sensation.


Guess that is this that makes Cosmic Encounter so fantastic.
 



#2 GrimJester

GrimJester

    Member

  • Members
  • 74 posts

Posted 19 March 2012 - 08:02 PM

That's a good story.  The occasional bluff is a great tool.



#3 Adam

Adam

    Member

  • Members
  • 468 posts

Posted 20 March 2012 - 01:53 AM

That's fun times.  How did you give him cards, though?  You can only trade stuff as part of a deal while the deal is being made, and you wouldn't get a new hand till your next turn.



#4 Jack-in-the-Box

Jack-in-the-Box

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 20 March 2012 - 07:31 AM

Oops... We thought that the deal should consist in tarding cards or colonies but that you could fullfill your part of the deal later if agreed.

 



#5 Jack-in-the-Box

Jack-in-the-Box

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 20 March 2012 - 07:33 AM

Oops... We thought that a negotiation should consist in trading colonies or cards but that you could fullfill your part of the deal later if agreed.

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS