Jump to content



Photo

Omen house rule


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 McRae

McRae

    Member

  • Members
  • 111 posts

Posted 13 March 2012 - 10:15 AM

Just curious if anybody else does this, the group I play with house-ruled that on attacks where multiple omens do nothing (e.g., bolo grenade, hammerburst) the extra omens can be rerolled one time. So if you overkill with the hammerburst and get 1 hit and 2 omens, that would be 3 total hits plus one reroll. Does anybody else have a house rule for this? We hate feeling so lame rolling all omens, especially on the shotgun.

 



#2 Angus Lee

Angus Lee

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 13 March 2012 - 04:04 PM

This is your game and you can play it whatever the way so long as you can enjoy it.

However, game balance might be broken if any rules are changed.


Once ... Always ...

My blog (in Simplified Chinese): http://blog.sina.com/b0ardgames

#3 loken14

loken14

    Member

  • Members
  • 343 posts

Posted 13 March 2012 - 04:33 PM

 do you keep that rule for the locust also the drone's heal immediately comes to mind without the game in front of me.



#4 pikeman

pikeman

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 19 March 2012 - 02:10 AM

mmmm Have I played this wrong - if an omen causes a wound - do not multiple omens = multiple wounds - or wound bonus's?

 

Thanks



#5 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,272 posts

Posted 19 March 2012 - 05:28 AM

Depends on the weapon. Lancer and Snub Pistol deal 1 wound per Omen, but Hammerburst (2 wounds on an omen if target is 1 area or more away) says limit once per attack.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#6 pikeman

pikeman

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 21 March 2012 - 08:59 PM

Yep could not remember the Hammerburst omen ability - can now see the point re original question re rolling all omens on that type of weapon.

 

 



#7 McRae

McRae

    Member

  • Members
  • 111 posts

Posted 19 April 2012 - 05:06 AM

 Yes, only on the abilities that have a "once per attack" limit. So the first omen triggers the special ability, the remaining omens can be re-rolled one time.



#8 DaBigS

DaBigS

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 April 2012 - 06:57 AM

I find in my games, so far, the rules for omens balance out fairly evenly. Although it is frustrating to roll 3 omens with a hammerburst, people in my group have also been saved by a full health drone rolling multiple omens as well. I will have to try out your omen rule to see how well it works, I can see it making for less useless attacks on both sides.



#9 rsrForge

rsrForge

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 12 January 2013 - 11:25 AM

loken14 said:

 do you keep that rule for the locust also the drone's heal immediately comes to mind without the game in front of me.

My Omen house rule is for when Locust roll an Omen but have no use for it (like an unwounded Drone) - I use their weapon's triggered ability.

Yep, I like a challenge :)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS