Jump to content



Photo

Attack on routed units


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 billy31078

billy31078

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 09 March 2012 - 10:03 AM

What happens when you attack units that are already routed(units cannot move or draw cards for battle according to the rules).

Do those units retreat or are they destroyed?



#2 billy31078

billy31078

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 09 March 2012 - 07:26 PM

billy31078 said:

What happens when you attack units that are already routed(units cannot move or draw cards for battle according to the rules).

Do those units retreat or are they destroyed?

sorry about the multiple post something was wrong with my internet connection



#3 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,680 posts

Posted 10 March 2012 - 12:24 PM

billy31078 said:

What happens when you attack units that are already routed(units cannot move or draw cards for battle according to the rules).

Do those units retreat or are they destroyed?

If there are routed units in an area prior to the battle, if that side loses the battle the previously-routed units will be destroyed.  That means if the ONLY units in the area are routed, if another player moves in, they will basically kill them.  You still have a "battle", although it will pretty much be one sided - the other side still draws cards (which mostly just burns cards, but for some units, like Necromancers and Knights, it could have other effects, too).  It would only take ONE attacking unit to kill all the routed units, too.  Just be careful - if the routed player has a Rally Cry card or two, they could leave you with a nasty surprise by un-routing the units prior to battle!



#4 slouching

slouching

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 May 2012 - 05:08 PM

sigmazero13 said:

billy31078 said:

 

What happens when you attack units that are already routed(units cannot move or draw cards for battle according to the rules).

Do those units retreat or are they destroyed?

 

 

If there are routed units in an area prior to the battle, if that side loses the battle the previously-routed units will be destroyed.  That means if the ONLY units in the area are routed, if another player moves in, they will basically kill them.  You still have a "battle", although it will pretty much be one sided - the other side still draws cards (which mostly just burns cards, but for some units, like Necromancers and Knights, it could have other effects, too).  It would only take ONE attacking unit to kill all the routed units, too.  Just be careful - if the routed player has a Rally Cry card or two, they could leave you with a nasty surprise by un-routing the units prior to battle!

Will you clarify that as i'm new to the game too. So when you write that Knights and Necros could have other effects, does that mean their Special Abilities?  If they are routed, that is still applicable? I understand that Tactic cards can be used, but routed units Special Abilities as well? Thanks for the clarification.



#5 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,680 posts

Posted 06 May 2012 - 05:24 PM

slouching said:

 

 

Will you clarify that as i'm new to the game too. So when you write that Knights and Necros could have other effects, does that mean their Special Abilities?  If they are routed, that is still applicable? I understand that Tactic cards can be used, but routed units Special Abilities as well? Thanks for the clarification.

Yes, I just meant that while most units who draw cards in this situation would just be burning cards, Knights and Necromancers have Special Abilities that, if triggered, would have effects that last outside the battle (drawing cards and creating units, respectively).  Thus, for these units, drawing the cards isn't necessarily just burning them.

Routed units can't draw cards, so they wouldn't be able to use their special ability.  The above mostly applies to situations where a Daqan or Waiqar player is the attacker, and attacks enemy units that are completely routed already.  The attacker would still draw cards as normal, although there are no enemy units to apply the results against (the already-routed units are not in the battle), so it would mostly just burn the cards, but the attacker's Knights or Necros could get some other effect.



#6 Terah

Terah

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 06 May 2012 - 09:40 PM

sigmazero13 said:

Just be careful - if the routed player has a Rally Cry card or two, they could leave you with a nasty surprise by un-routing the units prior to battle!

That's right. Another really effective Tactics card is "Summon Lightning" because defending units that start a battle routed do not participate in the battle and so cannot have any damage allocated to them.



#7 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,680 posts

Posted 07 May 2012 - 04:21 AM

Terah said:

sigmazero13 said:

Just be careful - if the routed player has a Rally Cry card or two, they could leave you with a nasty surprise by un-routing the units prior to battle!

 

That's right. Another really effective Tactics card is "Summon Lightning" because defending units that start a battle routed do not participate in the battle and so cannot have any damage allocated to them.

I've used that trick many times myself.  Wipes a smile off their face to have their forces wiped out and lose what they thought would be an easy win!

Moral - If you can, always bring more than you think you may need!



#8 slouching

slouching

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 May 2012 - 03:17 PM

Thanks for the clarification. That makes sense. looking forward to my next game.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS