Jump to content



Photo

Transporting max sized army on ships? and question on Westeros card resolving


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Unbeliever

Unbeliever

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 March 2012 - 11:10 PM

Hi all,

I have a question on ship transports and one on the Westeros Phase:

1) Does using ship transport count toward your army supply limit?

Example:

My position on the Supply Track states my maximum army size is 3. Can I March with my 3-sized army using my ship transports, or would that be breaking the Supply limit, as a 3-sized army + 1 ship = 4?

2) In the Westeros phase, do you reveal the details of all three cards to all players, then adjust Wildling track, then resolve the Westeros cards? I think it seems a bit weird that players would know exactly what will happen on the three cards before resolving the first.

I guess maybe you're supposed to be able to plan your use of power tokens when bidding, based on what will happen on later cards (more bidding/Wildling attack)?

How do you play the Westeros cards in your group, and exactly how do you think they are meant to be played based on what the rules say?

Thanks!



#2 DoctorDH

DoctorDH

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 05 March 2012 - 04:12 AM

 In regard to the question about ship transport; no. The ship does not affect the size. The army you are moving through the ship does not stay with the ship, they only move through it.  Your army marches from their starting location and then move to the final destination. 



#3 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 402 posts

Posted 05 March 2012 - 07:07 AM

Unbeliever said:

Hi all,

I have a question on ship transports and one on the Westeros Phase:

1) Does using ship transport count toward your army supply limit?

Example:

My position on the Supply Track states my maximum army size is 3. Can I March with my 3-sized army using my ship transports, or would that be breaking the Supply limit, as a 3-sized army + 1 ship = 4?

No, it does not, because the land units are never really "on" the ships. All ships do is change the definition of "adjacent".

Any two land areas are considered adjacent for the purposes of marching and retreating when they are connected by consecutive sea areas (or a single sea area) each containing one or more friendly Ship units.

 



#4 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 402 posts

Posted 05 March 2012 - 07:08 AM

Unbeliever said:

2) In the Westeros phase, do you reveal the details of all three cards to all players, then adjust Wildling track, then resolve the Westeros cards? I think it seems a bit weird that players would know exactly what will happen on the three cards before resolving the first.

I guess maybe you're supposed to be able to plan your use of power tokens when bidding, based on what will happen on later cards (more bidding/Wildling attack)?

How do you play the Westeros cards in your group, and exactly how do you think they are meant to be played based on what the rules say?

Thanks!

This is pretty clear in the rules:

The Westeros Phase consists of the following steps:

1. Advance Game Round Marker:

Advance the Game Round marker one position on the Game Round track.

2. Draw Westeros Cards:

Reveal the top card of all three Westeros decks.

3. Advance Wildlings Track:

Count the number of Wildling icons on the three revealed Westeros cards (if any) and move the Wildling Threat token forward
that many spaces on the Wildlings track.

4. Resolve Westeros Cards:

Now, in order of deck number (starting with numeral I), resolve each revealed Westeros Card.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS