Jump to content



Photo

Hero as Leader: a question about combat


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Hugolin

Hugolin

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 29 February 2012 - 04:46 PM

Question 1

We found it unclear whether or not a hero with troops (i.e. a Leader) adds his dice to the combat before or after the terrain.

e.g.

1 Blue Banner (3d) plus

1 Hero - Warrior Class (2d) (Leader)

1 Skill (+1d when a leader)

The above unit fights with 5 dice.

Now, it attacks a Wood hex (max 2d), is the number of dice 3, or 5?

Is the total

3d Banner, minus 1d because of wood (max 2d), plus 2d because of Warrior, +1d because of skill = 5d (3 > 2 + 2 + 1 = 5)

 or

3d Banner,  plus 2d because of Warrior, minus 3d because of wood (max 2d), +1d because of skill = 5d (3 +2 = 5 > 2 + 1 = 3)
 

Question 2, again about a Leader Hero :

Is the hero skill affecting the unit it fights with and vice-versa? OR are the die rolls individual?

A Wizard hits on Lore. 

is a Blue Banner (3d - Long Sword) plus a Wizard (1d) now have 4 dice hitting, with all Lores, Sword on Shield, and Helmets counting as hits?

OR

Are the (3d - Long Sword, Sword on Shield and Helmet) dice rolled, AND ALSO

the Wizard die (1d, Lore and Helmet) is rolled,

with all hits counted at the end?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



#2 toddrew

toddrew

    Member

  • Members
  • 620 posts

Posted 29 February 2012 - 06:29 PM

Hero Skills, whether as a Champion (without a unit) or Leader (with a unit) do ignore terrain restrictions to combat [Page 11 of the Heroes rulebook: "A Skill card that increases the number of combat dice is not subject to terrain battle limitations that impose a cap on the number of battle dice rolled.]

When acting as a Leader, any Skills that modify the battle dice will do so for that unit - so in the example of the Wizard Hero acting as Leader, that unit would roll 4d and hit on any lore results.



#3 Hugolin

Hugolin

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 01 March 2012 - 02:19 AM

 Thank you! So the die of the Hero are limited with terrain, but the skills and artefacts are not.



#4 Hugolin

Hugolin

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 01 March 2012 - 02:24 AM

 In the same line of thought, say an Ogre with Frenzy (repeated attack on Sword on Shield) is stacked with a Warrior Leader with a +1d skill, will it attack (in open terrain) with Ogre (4d) + Warrior Hero (2d) + Skill (1d) total (7d) with the Frenzy applying to all 7 dice?

Thanks again!



#5 TheKingOfBlades

TheKingOfBlades

    Member

  • Members
  • 196 posts

Posted 01 March 2012 - 07:08 AM

Hugolin said:

 In the same line of thought, say an Ogre with Frenzy (repeated attack on Sword on Shield) is stacked with a Warrior Leader with a +1d skill, will it attack (in open terrain) with Ogre (4d) + Warrior Hero (2d) + Skill (1d) total (7d) with the Frenzy applying to all 7 dice?

Thanks again!

Everything is correct in that except the dice of the 2d from the warrior hero are not added to the attack. Those are just the number of dice he rolls when he is on his own as a champion.



#6 Hugolin

Hugolin

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 01 March 2012 - 09:00 AM

 Oh wow thanks! We played it wrong then, we were adding the Hero die/dice on top of the Banner's! That changes things, and give a new value to say, a Wizard's skill!



#7 toddrew

toddrew

    Member

  • Members
  • 620 posts

Posted 01 March 2012 - 10:03 AM

Yeah, apologies for the confusion - I don't play with Heroes and had assumed there was a wizard skill that added an attack die as well as allowing Lore results to be hits.



#8 Hugolin

Hugolin

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 01 March 2012 - 11:41 AM

 That's possible but that would be 2 skills.

There's a general skill adding a die, and the recommended starting skill for a Wizard is the one making him hit on Lores (forgot the name and the game is packed).

My Wizard right now has 1d + hit on Lore... A puny level 1 Wizard!

Thanks everyone for the replies.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS