Jump to content



Photo

Gaining Strongholds


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Style75

Style75

    Member

  • Members
  • 195 posts

Posted 22 February 2012 - 08:52 AM

My friend and I seem to be playing the game a little differently but we can't see any direct explanation from the rules as to which of us is correct. The problem surrounds gaining strongholds. Each stronghold card shows that it can be gained by either spending gold or through combat strength. Buying a stronghold using gold is pretty straightforward, but the combat option is a little confusing. We both think the combat strength in the bottom right of the card refers to capturing the stronghold through a combat action against your own barracks, but the debate is over using a battle to attack a stronghold in your opponent's barracks.

My friend thinks that because a stronghold in an opponent's barracks is not yet in control by that player, you should be able to capture that stronghold using a battle action. My opinion is that a stronghold in a barracks is still controlled by a player and therefore can't be attacked because siege actions can't target strongholds.

Which of us is correct?



#2 telengard

telengard

    Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 22 February 2012 - 03:18 PM

Style75 said:

My friend and I seem to be playing the game a little differently but we can't see any direct explanation from the rules as to which of us is correct. The problem surrounds gaining strongholds. Each stronghold card shows that it can be gained by either spending gold or through combat strength. Buying a stronghold using gold is pretty straightforward, but the combat option is a little confusing. We both think the combat strength in the bottom right of the card refers to capturing the stronghold through a combat action against your own barracks, but the debate is over using a battle to attack a stronghold in your opponent's barracks.

My friend thinks that because a stronghold in an opponent's barracks is not yet in control by that player, you should be able to capture that stronghold using a battle action. My opinion is that a stronghold in a barracks is still controlled by a player and therefore can't be attacked because siege actions can't target strongholds.

Which of us is correct?

I'm pretty sure you can't attack your opponent's stronghold period, unless I totally missed that in the rules.   You can attack their neutral captured cities though.

~telengard



#3 Tim Kelly

Tim Kelly

    Member

  • Members
  • 281 posts

Posted 20 March 2012 - 01:52 AM

According to the rules on page 12, Strongholds may not be chosen as targets for a Siege.

TK


"...I was born game, and I intend to go out that way." -- Rooster Cogburn


#4 Style75

Style75

    Member

  • Members
  • 195 posts

Posted 05 April 2012 - 06:45 AM

I agree with what you are saying, but I think my friend has discovered a weak point in the rules that needs clarification. If a card is in the barracks, is it considered to be in play? If not, can cards in an opponents barracks be targeted by a battle? (instead of a siege)



#5 telengard

telengard

    Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 07 April 2012 - 08:30 AM

Style75 said:

I agree with what you are saying, but I think my friend has discovered a weak point in the rules that needs clarification. If a card is in the barracks, is it considered to be in play? If not, can cards in an opponents barracks be targeted by a battle? (instead of a siege)

 

Cards in your barracks are not in play.  You also can't target any card (currently) in an opponent's barracks (i.e. remove them from the game).

 

~telengard



#6 Dawn Avenger

Dawn Avenger

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 15 May 2012 - 08:41 AM

So anyone can explain the Strength values on the Strongholds cards?



#7 Dawn Avenger

Dawn Avenger

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 15 May 2012 - 05:00 PM

Nevermind. (u can "storm" ur strongholds in barracks with the battle action)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS