Photo

The Bloodquest Cycle (or, Why I'm Staying!)

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 spalanzani

spalanzani

• Members
  • 812 posts

Posted 18 February 2012 - 11:06 PM

Firstly, I have to say that I'm still fairly new to this game, discovering it in September last year when FFG had announced they had the SW licence, and I was looking into their other stuff. Quite quickly, this game became my favourite for game nights, and has seen the table probably more often than any other game in the six months since. However, I also got into LotR and AGoT, both of which I also really like, so with SW then-looming on the horizon, I started thinking I should cut back on my gaming budget before it gets out of control, as following four games is a bit excessive, and Warhammer was chosen as the one to go.

The main reason for this, I suppose, is that, having all the card expansions up to date, I felt like it was a great game where it stood, and so I didn't need anything else to make it even greater. The Legends, the Epic Spells, the dearth of neutral allies, there wasn't really anything else I felt I needed to improve my enjoyment of the game.

But then in December Bloodquest was announced, and it was like a blow to the head. Yes, there's a reason why I don't often send units on a quest! Yes, the Legend cards seem a bit under-supported! Yes: I need more Warhammer!

The opportunity to gain card rewards from questing is something that immediately appealed to me, and even though I'm not a High Elf player, the stuff promised by the first battle pack, Rising Dawn, ignited my interest like a petrol-soaked forest catching fire. Since then, the previews of upcoming packs have succeeded in getting me excited about this game, and I've decided I'll stick around for the cycle, at least!