Jump to content



Photo

Basic Question - Hunters Attacking the Count


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 LETE

LETE

    Member

  • Members
  • 640 posts

Posted 15 February 2012 - 07:15 PM

Hiyas:

(Please, if this has already been answered, kindly point me in the right direction...)

 

A basic question:
If I'm reading this right, Hunter(s) cannot attack Drac directly, (barring special Events/situations); meaning that, they can't go to/be in Drac's location & just Attack him in their Action Step. Only Drac can Attack Hunter(s) directly, right?

& the only way they can Attack Drac in a Hunter's own turn is when defeating an Agent, not defeating an Encounter, right?


Thanks!

L
 



#2 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 5,703 posts

Posted 16 February 2012 - 12:31 AM

LETE said:

Hiyas:

(Please, if this has already been answered, kindly point me in the right direction...)

 

A basic question:
If I'm reading this right, Hunter(s) cannot attack Drac directly, (barring special Events/situations); meaning that, they can't go to/be in Drac's location & just Attack him in their Action Step. Only Drac can Attack Hunter(s) directly, right?

& the only way they can Attack Drac in a Hunter's own turn is when defeating an Agent, not defeating an Encounter, right?


Thanks!

L
 

Always played this way: if a Hunter enters a location on Dracula's trail, he first has to resolve the Encounter on that card and then, if the Encounter doesn't make his turn to be stopped, he's allowed to enter combat with Dracula. Otherwise, it'd be almost impossible to kill the Vampire. A FAQ entry, saying that whenever Dracula is in the location a Hunter just entered in, then the Hunter cannot rest, resupply, nor trade, seems to confirm this.


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#3 LETE

LETE

    Member

  • Members
  • 640 posts

Posted 17 February 2012 - 03:40 PM

Julia said:

 

A FAQ entry, saying that whenever Dracula is in the location a Hunter just entered in, then the Hunter cannot rest, resupply, nor trade, seems to confirm this.

 

 

 

Why, J?  It read (to moi) that since Drac's in the location, the Hunter is prohibited from doing these things, period.  It doesn't confirm that the Hunter can Attack D if there is no Agent Encounter & then if said Hunter hasn't defeated it, like it states in the rules (the Fighting to get to Drac" header).

Did I explain myself clearly or was I too convoluted?

 

 

Thanks for the input!

L



#4 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 5,703 posts

Posted 19 February 2012 - 12:37 PM

LETE said:

Why, J?  It read (to moi) that since Drac's in the location, the Hunter is prohibited from doing these things, period.  It doesn't confirm that the Hunter can Attack D if there is no Agent Encounter & then if said Hunter hasn't defeated it, like it states in the rules (the Fighting to get to Drac" header).

Did I explain myself clearly or was I too convoluted?

Indeed, you've been very clear on your point, but still, try to figure out this situation.

There is nothing forcing Dracula to enter a city with an investigator, nor to play a Servant. In this way, he cannot lose a game, and the game would be completely broken.

Besides, there are many occasions in which we read "no more encounters, including Dracula".

Not to mention that it'd be a non-sense that a Hunter, hunting for Dracula, cannot fight Dracula as soon as he reaches his location. What kind of Hunter would he be then?


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#5 LETE

LETE

    Member

  • Members
  • 640 posts

Posted 20 February 2012 - 05:39 AM

Hi:

 

A "by-the-rules" Hunter...

 

...The game spells it simply: Only Drac can Attack directly.  He's compelled, he must.

 

L

(Unless somewhere states otherwise)



#6 Tromdial

Tromdial

    Member

  • Members
  • 580 posts

Posted 20 February 2012 - 09:15 AM

LETE said:

If I'm reading this right, Hunter(s) cannot attack Drac directly, (barring special Events/situations); meaning that, they can't go to/be in Drac's location & just Attack him in their Action Step. Only Drac can Attack Hunter(s) directly, right?

Where are you reading this, cannot attack Dracula directly?



#7 LETE

LETE

    Member

  • Members
  • 640 posts

Posted 22 February 2012 - 07:44 AM

Hi:

 

In the rules for the Hunters, under the Action header, there are only so many options, like Search, Resupply & Rest, etc.  There is no mention of an "Attack Action."  Drac, however, has this as an "option" (he must attack if there's a Hunter in his location), under his own Action header.  This is repeated in the Hunter's & Drac's "Play" cards.

 

 

L



#8 Tromdial

Tromdial

    Member

  • Members
  • 580 posts

Posted 22 February 2012 - 08:10 AM

LETE said:

Hi:

In the rules for the Hunters, under the Action header, there are only so many options, like Search, Resupply & Rest, etc.  There is no mention of an "Attack Action."  Drac, however, has this as an "option" (he must attack if there's a Hunter in his location), under his own Action header.  This is repeated in the Hunter's & Drac's "Play" cards.

L

Of all places, page 2 of the booklet may alleviate your question: "On a Hunter's turn, he may first move to a new location. If that location contains an encounter, the Hunter must face it and deal with its effects. If Dracula is in the location, the Hunter must battle the Count..."

This rulebook could have been better. I just posted about a diagram dilemma with Wolf Form, and some rules are just all over the place. Still, I cannot wait to pick this game up.

I hope this helps.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS