Jump to content



Photo

Combat Spells questions


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 7ur1n

7ur1n

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 14 February 2012 - 03:40 AM

Hello everybody,

Does anyone know wether combat penaltys apply when an investigator is trying to cast a combat spell on a monster (Bind Monster or Shrivelling) and by penaltys I'm refering to Stun or Darkness counters and Trauma Cards.

Thanks!



#2 Gargula

Gargula

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 06 February 2013 - 04:54 AM

My group and I have the same question!!!!

Anyone could help us?

Thank you,

Gargula



#3 demozon

demozon

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 06 February 2013 - 05:54 AM

I would say yes, they do.

(Core rules, pg 15) Stun:  In addition, he receives –2 to every attribute test.

(Core rules, pg 15) Darkness: An investigator receives –2 to all attribute tests during combat while he is in the room.

(CoW rules, pg 11) Note that Actions with the word “Attack” are Attack actions, not Card Ability actions.

So, attack spells are attacks, and consequently combat ensues. This also means that an investigator does not have to perform an evade test to cast an attack spell.



#4 Ksdas

Ksdas

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 08 February 2013 - 02:39 AM

Note that rule book page 21 "Regardless of who is attacking, combat is always resolved by the keeper drawing Combat cards from the deck…"

Since spell is NOT resolved by combat cards, so it will not suffer -2 penalty in darkness as it's not Combat at all. (Combat & Attack are different in MOM)

As 'Bind monster' and 'shriverling' are highlighted with 'Attack', so there will be no evade test.

Player will suffer -2 penalty by cast spell with Stun on them as it's require attribute test.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS