Jump to content



Photo

Unofficial FAQ on the Coral Beach Center


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Coral Beach

Coral Beach

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 04 February 2009 - 07:42 PM

As promised yesterday, an updated english language  FAQ is put online. It has not the official stamp from FFG but most of the questions/answers came from the game designer. Feel free to contact me if you see a mistake or a question not treated. For reading purposes, I retake the same paragraph structure than the official FAQ (the official entries have been retaken).

Unofficial FAQ 1.1 in English



#2 Lord Tengil

Lord Tengil

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 04 February 2009 - 11:41 PM

It worked an hour ago, but now i get redirected to some french "can't find the page" -page.



#3 Dominik

Dominik

    Member

  • Members
  • 117 posts

Posted 04 February 2009 - 11:43 PM

I also can´t download the file anymore.



#4 Coral Beach

Coral Beach

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 05 February 2009 - 12:58 AM

The link is now working !



#5 Paptimus

Paptimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 103 posts

Posted 05 February 2009 - 02:01 AM

 Thank you, Coral Beach. You rule !



#6 Lord Tengil

Lord Tengil

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 February 2009 - 02:48 AM

Yes, superb mate. ALways helpful :)



#7 Dominik

Dominik

    Member

  • Members
  • 117 posts

Posted 05 February 2009 - 04:40 AM

Great, i´ll put it in my link section in my blog:

http://dominik-cenia...tures-game.html



#8 Dominik

Dominik

    Member

  • Members
  • 117 posts

Posted 05 February 2009 - 04:53 AM

Q: May I play the command card Invoke Frenzy with the
Gommorian Emasculator unit action Barrage (in its game
text the unit action is referred as an attack)?

A: "Play before the chosen unit attacks" refers to the chosen
unit taking an attack action. Using the Barrage action does
not interact with this play restriction.

So, NO Invoke Frenzy together with Barrage at all ???

I´m not sure how i can interpret the "does not interact with this play restriction" line.



#9 Coral Beach

Coral Beach

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 05 February 2009 - 05:17 AM

This is a very strict interpretation of game rules :

  1. Invoke Frenzy card will only apply with attack action
  2. Barrage is a unit action (even if its text mention the term attack)
  3. Attack action is distinct from unit action
  4. So Invoke Frenzy won't be applied with Barrage


#10 nullstate

nullstate

    Member

  • Members
  • 72 posts

Posted 05 February 2009 - 06:57 PM

Whoa, where did this come from? It was ruled at the GenCon tourney last year that they did in fact work together.



#11 Coral Beach

Coral Beach

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 05 February 2009 - 07:48 PM

Two sources,

 - At the 9th post of this thread

- And as a question asked directly to Nate French the 22 january 2009 (by rules question formular).

> Message from:
> Coral Beach
>
> Rule Question:
> Does the Invoke Frenzy command card (n°6) may be applied to the
> Barrage unit action of the Gommorian Emasculator (n°7) ?
> Some players think that this damage bonus may only be applied to
> normal attacks and others that Barrage may be assimilated to an
> attack (the game text is ambiguous).
> Thanks.

"Play before the chosen unit attacks" refers to the chosen unit taking
an attack action. Using the Barrage action does not interact with this
play restriction.

Nate French
Design and Development
Fantasy Flight Games



#12 Dominik

Dominik

    Member

  • Members
  • 117 posts

Posted 06 February 2009 - 01:20 AM

Then i misinterpret the answer from the thread of january, and i was right from the beginning.



#13 Coral Beach

Coral Beach

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 06 February 2009 - 04:48 AM

Yes, but I'm not discouraged to use the Gommorian Emasculator fot its astonishing firer capability (Accuracy +4 is still very nasty).



#14 Paptimus

Paptimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 103 posts

Posted 06 February 2009 - 12:35 PM

 Yup, I didn't know this ruling either and I really don't like it...



#15 MarceAndrade

MarceAndrade

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 07 February 2009 - 01:38 AM

Great F.A.Q., Coral, you are our hero! Do you care if I make an spanish translation?

In the other hand, I'm not an Algeroth player, but the Frenzy + Barrage combo isn't so powerful for her forbid. I don't have any problem if an Algeroth player wants to use it in a battle agaisnt me, and the card specifies the barrage is an attack action, after all.



#16 Coral Beach

Coral Beach

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 07 February 2009 - 02:52 AM

MarceAndrade said:

Do you care if I make a spanish translation?

Yes, you can.



#17 MarceAndrade

MarceAndrade

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 07 February 2009 - 04:27 AM

Thank you!



#18 nullstate

nullstate

    Member

  • Members
  • 72 posts

Posted 07 February 2009 - 09:51 AM

Yeah, not a wise ruling on the Frenzy/Barrage combo. Essentially, no one will ever have a reason to use Barrage, unless they really don't know how green dice roll yet. 3 actions for two green dice, ignoring LoS or not, is a complete waste. Essentially they just trumped their own unit. I'd be surprised to see Gomorrian in competitive play now.



#19 Coral Beach

Coral Beach

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 07 February 2009 - 07:25 PM

This figure has other arguments to prevail. It's only a silver unit, not a powerful gold one. It stays a very good shooter for an Algeroth army (Frenzy with its normal attack action are awesome too).



#20 Cyborgtrucker

Cyborgtrucker

    Member

  • Members
  • 78 posts

Posted 14 February 2009 - 12:40 PM

Coral Beach said:

This is a very strict interpretation of game rules :

  1. Invoke Frenzy card will only apply with attack action
  2. Barrage is a unit action (even if its text mention the term attack)
  3. Attack action is distinct from unit action
  4. So Invoke Frenzy won't be applied with Barrage

Well Nate French replied to my question about just this very thing and I posted the reply here.

http://new.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=12&efcid=6&efidt=48874&efpag=0#49516

See Reply #8






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS