Please help me and my group out with this -
We use the optional module of Tides of Battle in our 2nd edition game.
ToB states that the holder of the Valyrian Steel Blade may use it to discard his first ToB card and draw another one to replace it. I take this to mean that it modifies the existing rules regarding the blades use printed on page 11 in such a way as to replace them. Therefore if you play with ToB you don't get to use the +1 to combat strength as it's ability has been updated.
The other players believe that ToB is vague and leaves you to interpret that you either still get the +1 bonus or you can choose to use in preference to drawing from the ToB deck?
What say you?