Jump to content



Photo

Power Armour Table


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Lecram

Lecram

    Member

  • Members
  • 108 posts

Posted 01 February 2012 - 03:47 PM

So you just hijacked a ship from the emperium in the calixes sector. You find a sweet set of Power armour and take it for you very own.  Do you roll on the table to see what "customization" it has?  What about if you start with power armour, do you roll on the table?

I'm just curious  because it doesn't seem to fit if you raid a loyalist ship in the calixis sector and end up with armor that has "Remnents of Mutation".

I suppose it could be justified in some way.  Is rolling on the table optional?



#2 Reverend mort

Reverend mort

    Member

  • Members
  • 398 posts

Posted 01 February 2012 - 05:55 PM

Personally, I'd say you roll on the table for armor likely to have said custom bitz. If it's straight out of the box armor from a loyalist, it's not gonna have chain wraps or mutant adaptations or a carefully tweaked power source. Thus, no roll, though if a player loots it, I'd probably allow them a roll on said table if they intend to keep it and they go through some downtime where they can either fiddle with it themselves or hurl it in the direction of someone who can.



#3 Ixionyx

Ixionyx

    Member

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:03 AM

 I think the table in BC is for old legion armour, pre Mk. VII stuff that has been worn by one or more chaos space marine for some (warp variable) time.

 Whether to apply the table to loyalist astartes Mk. VII armour is your call, if you like the table stick with it and ignore the obviously inappropriate results or replace them.

Maybe Deathwatch has some features for this kind of thing?  I don't have that line but I suspect if it is anywhere it'd be in those books.



#4 Decessor

Decessor

    Member

  • Members
  • 981 posts

Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:07 AM

The Deathwatch core book has VII armour and an armour history table. The Rites of Battle books adds rules for armours from II-VIII and three more armour history tables. Some of the results would be fine for a renegade marine (to do with battle damage and enhanced systems), others are tied to loyalty and honour and not so appropriate.



#5 Ixionyx

Ixionyx

    Member

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 09 February 2012 - 12:09 PM

Decessor said:

The Deathwatch core book has VII armour and an armour history table. The Rites of Battle books adds rules for armours from II-VIII and three more armour history tables. Some of the results would be fine for a renegade marine (to do with battle damage and enhanced systems), others are tied to loyalty and honour and not so appropriate.

 

I think we have a winner.



#6 Elurindel

Elurindel

    Member

  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 10 February 2012 - 07:20 AM

Since we're talking about power armour subsystems, I'd like to pose a question:

 

What percentage do Chain Bandoliers have for destroying other weapons? It seems weird that simple chains would exactly the same likeliness to destroy a weapon as an actual power weapon.



#7 Wolftemplar

Wolftemplar

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 20 February 2012 - 12:44 AM

the rules state that its as if blocked by a power weapon (which means 75%) it makes sense against primitive and chain weapons as the chains get caught in the teeth of the chainsword or simply shatter a mundane sword






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS