Basing

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Lska

Lska

• Members
  • 487 posts

Posted 01 February 2012 - 07:07 AM

Ok so i have a question. I started playing with bases and it gives a lot to minis, some pics will come out next week. Question is did any of you removed the minis from the default bases? Couse i'm of course afraid i will brake sth:D And in acuall state adding some stones or rocks makes the legs less visible, i was thinking about removing the minis from bases but they seem to be hot-glued and i'm a bit afraid of drilling the holes as i would prly not able to place them back steadyly. Anyone has some experience with that?;) Or schould i stick to small stones, sand and snow in basing?:D All opinions will be appriciated ;)

#2 jowisu

jowisu

• Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 01 February 2012 - 07:21 AM

No problems removing the legs with a hobby knife, a little patience and gentleness is all you need.

I have sliced off some of the plastic pegs with no probs. Tried using some acetone, but the preprime can be affected.

Pinning is suggested if you cut them from the bases, especially with models that stand on one leg.

I suggest you remove the cap on the bottom of the base and add acetone there, put your figs in heated water, then slowly and gently remove with a flat dull blade on a hobby knife. Pulling works too, but it can and may damage your figs. check if you can pull without damaging, it will save time.

Out of topic but worth mentioning, you can easily add weights underneath the base before you reattach the caps.

#3 Lska

Lska

• Members
  • 487 posts

Posted 01 February 2012 - 07:53 AM

Hmm when you use acetone do the pins remain in place? Couse making new pins is sth i won't possibly do good. Is there a way to you know, remove the guy but leave the pins intact to use them on the new base?;)

#4 jowisu

jowisu

• Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 01 February 2012 - 08:02 AM

Lska said: