Jump to content



Photo

Comprehensive FAQ project


  • Please log in to reply
88 replies to this topic

#1 Roxas_Lawliet

Roxas_Lawliet

    Member

  • Members
  • 304 posts

Posted 04 February 2009 - 05:00 AM

Hello Gaming Community,

I am the new marketing intern here at Fantasy Flight Games and I am working on a Comprehensive FAQ project and I need help from you, the fans. If you have any questions about the game that you feel were not addressed in the most current of the FAQ for Cosmic Encounter, please post them here.


Thank you,

Fantasy Flight Games
 



#2 The Warp

The Warp

    Member

  • Members
  • 315 posts

Posted 04 February 2009 - 05:22 AM

These are questions that I have seen elsewhere or heard other players ask:

- Does the Zombie get compensation?

- If you fail to deal with Void, are your ships eradicated?

- Do you actually get compensation for negotiating to Void, since it says "when your ships go to the warp"?

- Does the classic Filch flare have to be played to be used at all?

- What exactly can the Genesis planet be used for?  There's confusion about how many planets to maintain your power.

- When should alert levels on aliens be mixed?

- How does Mobius Tubes work if you have no planets?

- Does the Machine Wild Flare mean you draw 8 new cards and keep the rest of your hand, or must you discard the Machine flare after you play it?

- What is a cone?

- Can you trade Techs in a deal?

- Do you have to vacate a colony to exhange them in a deal?

- Can Hate discard a Morph card when using his power?  If so, does that mean no one else can discard one, or that whatever they discard will be the same as the Morph?

- Is there a difference between winning an encounter and having a successful encounter?  This came up in regard to Barbarian's power.

- Can you Cosmic Zap a flare when the player is using it to use his own power (say as an ally when otherwise he can't use his power as an ally)?  

- Some powers have different phases highlighted for use that the Super flare doesn't correspond to.  Can you still zap them?

- If you Comis Zap a player that is using his Super Flare, does he discard the flare, or does he have to play the wild?

- What cards can be played when you have a lien on your hand (that is, somone is trying to collect compensation)? 

- Can you play reinforcements on your side if you played an attack, but your opponent played a negotiate?

- If someone plays the Reincarnator flare on me, do I still get to use my power if it happens in the same phase as the flare?

- When can you zap Macron?  His power is used to bring only 2 ships in the gate, so is it then, or during resulotion?

- What is the different between the Start Turn phase and the Regroup phase?

- Can CE be played with only 2 players?    (The short answer is no, but there have been variants created that make it possible.  Check http://redamedia.com/warp for more info on that and hundreds of other variants and analysis for CE).



#3 Adam

Adam

    Member

  • Members
  • 468 posts

Posted 04 February 2009 - 06:04 AM

 My favorite: "What is a cone?"



#4 RobertDG

RobertDG

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 04 February 2009 - 07:07 AM

Here's a link where Kevin answered "What exactly can the Genesis planet be used for?":

http://new.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=50&efcid=1&efidt=22671&efpag=0#23275

 

 

And the Macron question as I understand it is: "When Macron is the Defensive Player, when can you zap him?  

 



#5 Big Head Zach

Big Head Zach

    Member

  • Members
  • 185 posts

Posted 04 February 2009 - 09:00 AM

I think the Macron question was answered, though not in the way most would expect - that if the Macron is on defense, if they are Zapped at Launch (when the defense's ship count is determined), then they only count as one (and compensation is one per ship).



#6 Hat-hair

Hat-hair

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 04 February 2009 - 07:42 PM

We've been wondering: Can I play the Reincarnator Wild Flare on myself?



#7 RobertDG

RobertDG

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 05 February 2009 - 06:30 AM

 Regaining home base where there are no ships on one of your planets.

When you draw you own color from the destiny pile, and you want to automatically establish a colony on your planet, do  you go through all of the challenge phases?  Do you go through any of them past "destiny"?  

Besides powers/cards that trigger on the Start Turn, Regroup, and Destiny phases, can any cards or powers be played that require a later challenge phase to come about?



#8 Blobchaser

Blobchaser

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 February 2009 - 11:57 PM

A comprehensive FAQ, including errata, would be greatly appreciated.  Having one point of reference has to be a good thing.

I asked:

http://new.fantasyfl...d=1&efidt=33505

an official confirmation would be appreciated.

 



#9 RobertDG

RobertDG

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 10 February 2009 - 06:51 AM

 Communicating the contents of hands:<BR>

Is it allowable to say what is in your hand?  The rules explicitly say you can't show your hand to anyone, but it's vague on the telling.  During a deal, for instance, can you say, "I'll give you a Negotiate and an Attack 10" as part of the negotiations?  

Can you lie?

 



#10 RobertDG

RobertDG

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 10 February 2009 - 09:11 AM

 Found in this thread on BGG: http://www.boardgame...m/thread/378574

In short: if the Gambler becomes the main player, but has no cards in his/her hand, does the Gambler get to use his/her power to trade hands?  The case seems to be that according to the FFG rules, you don't draw a new hand until the Planning phase , and presumably, you only do that because it's time to play your card face down.   The Gambler power states that you can trade hands BEFORE playing an encounter card face down.<BR><BR>

In past editions, the rule was that as soon as you became the defense, you discarded non-encounter cards and drew a new hand.

 



#11 Adam

Adam

    Member

  • Members
  • 468 posts

Posted 10 February 2009 - 10:38 AM

 Note: You definitely mean Trader, not Gambler.  :)

I'm interested to know that answer, too.  The rules for drawing a new hand were so much clearer in previous editions.  This is the one area where the new game seems to be causing a lot of needless confusion.

I would say that he has to draw a hand first like in previous editions.



#12 RobertDG

RobertDG

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 11 February 2009 - 07:28 AM

Adam said:

 Note: You definitely mean Trader, not Gambler.  :)

 

Oops, thanks for the catch!

 

Here's another one:

Can Amoeba ooze all 20 tokens into the hyperspace gate, or would he loose his power immediately upon reducing his home colonies to 2?  What happens to the tokens that were removed from home colony #3?

This question is with regards to a BGG discussion where you played 2 powers, with the combo of Masochist/Amoeba; it's argued that you could win in one encounter.



#13 TheDukester

TheDukester

    Member

  • Members
  • 175 posts

Posted 11 February 2009 - 08:21 AM

RobertDG said:

Can Amoeba ooze all 20 tokens into the hyperspace gate, or would he loose his power immediately upon reducing his home colonies to 2?  What happens to the tokens that were removed from home colony #3?

And I will say, again, that "increase or decrease" does not mean "count out the ships one at a time." The card also says: "... you may add as many ships as you want from any of your colonies."

But I do agree that, as long as a FAQ is coming out, it couldn't hurt to add one Amoeba example.

 

 



#14 Adam

Adam

    Member

  • Members
  • 468 posts

Posted 11 February 2009 - 12:53 PM

 I agree with Mr. Duke.  There are similar actions in the game where people have asked if ships should be counted out one at a time, and I would assume the rules would clearly spell this out if it were the case.  As a rule of thumb, I consider all actions "instantaneous" unless there is reason to think otherwise.



#15 Adam

Adam

    Member

  • Members
  • 468 posts

Posted 11 February 2009 - 01:28 PM

 Can Zombie use the Wild Kamikaze or similar cards that require sending ships to Warp to use, and if so, are the ships actually sent to Warp?



#16 Adam

Adam

    Member

  • Members
  • 468 posts

Posted 14 February 2009 - 10:51 AM

In a deal, do both players have to give something to the other, or can a successful deal be "one-sided"?



#17 Big Head Zach

Big Head Zach

    Member

  • Members
  • 185 posts

Posted 14 February 2009 - 02:29 PM

Are the terms of a deal EXPLICITLY RESTRICTED to one or more of the following categories:

  • granting a single colony on a planet you already occupy
  • giving cards from your hand
  • specialized use of your power where indicated (such as Zombie's regeneration)

If a stated aspect of a proposed deal does not fall into one of the above categories, is it an invalid term and cannot be offered?



#18 davidmont

davidmont

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 14 February 2009 - 05:44 PM

 Perhaps this has already been answered elsewhere, but can the Vacuum, with his super, remove a colony of the Zombie?  And if Zombie has 4 foreign colonies with 1 ship each, and vacuum loses 4 ships, can the super remove all 4 of those colonies?



#19 Toomai

Toomai

    Member

  • Members
  • 189 posts

Posted 16 February 2009 - 12:26 PM

Here's a big ol' list of questions that I though up in the space of an hour. Some of these questions I already know the answer to, but I think they're a good idea to have in a FAQ.

If Wild Sorcerer or Wild Reincarnator is played in a multi-power game, how many powers are affected and who chooses which ones (if not randomly)?

If Healer heals someone, are their ships removed from the Warp or stopped from going to the Warp? (Asked because, if ships are sent to the Warp and then healed, Remora could cling and get ships every time Healer heals.)

Can Healer act before Zombie evades going to the Warp?

Is there an official ruling on Zombie vs. Void other than the standard timing rules?

If ships are sent to the Warp during Reveal, does Warpish update his total accordingly? (My guess is yes.)

Why does Gambler say "Do not use with Sorcerer"?

Can Vacuum use its power on itself, and if so, can it cause an infinite loop?

If you attempt to play a Flare but it gets Card Zapped (or for some other reason it is stopped from being used), does that count against a player's limit of one Flare per encounter?

Can a player use Wild Amoeba to increase his ship count if he has no ships as the defense?

Can Will attack Blue on Red's planet even if Blue has no colony there? (I'd say no, but the text doesn't specifically say.)

Can you research and reveal a Tech at the same time? (So, if the Tech needs 2 ships, could you place the 2nd ship on the Tech and reveal it in the same Regroup phase?)

If Warrior gets zapped, does he still earn experience? (He doesn't need to use his power to earn experience, but once he's zapped, he loses his power for the rest of the turn.)

If you get Force Fielded, are you then affected by Grudge?

If you must lose ships that aren't in the current encounter (such as Grudge), what happens if you have no ships outside the encounter?

If you have no ships outside the encounter, can you still invoke effects that require sacrificing a ship from outside the encounter (such as Wild Void) by sacrificing one that's in it?

Can Fido pick from any encounter cards discarded in the encounter (such as those lost by the Plague), or must he pick from the ones that were actually played?

Does Human's zap-him-to-win beat Pacifist's play-an-N-to-win? (I would rule yes.)

If the Omega Missile destroys a planet, do you still need three home colonies to retain your power?

If Warrior draws his own colour and reclaims an empty home planet, does he collect experience?

Does Hate have to be zapped before he chooses which card to discard?

If Super Amoeba oozes all of his ships out of an encounter as an ally, is he considered to have allied in the first place (for effects such as Grudge and Wild Mutant)?

Why must Spiff's total be "10 or more less", instead of using his power when he "loses by 10 or more"?

If Pacifist must play an N when Loser calls upset, does he get compensation? (I would say yes.)

If a power such as Calculator, Mirror, or Tripler affects a card, does an M copy the card's value before or after the modification? If the power is used in Reveal and gets zapped, does the M take on the card's original value?

If an encounter card is altered by something other than a power (such as Wild Pacifist), does an M copy the alteration?

Does the defense choose which ships die to Gluon Mines? Can allies be removed from an encounter completely because of them, and are they considered to have allied in the first place? (As Super Amoeba above.)

If Sorcerer switches cards, which card does Clone or Filch take?

Can Filch take Gambler's unrevealed card, and if so, can he notify the table whether the truth was told?

If a Flare that can be played at any time changes hands, can it be used a second time in the encounter by the new owner?

If Vulch gets zapped, does he get the Zap that zapped him? (I would say no, since he loses his power for the rest of the encounter.)

Does an M count as an attack card if it duplicated an attack card? (For the purposes of Cudgel, for example.)



#20 Adam

Adam

    Member

  • Members
  • 468 posts

Posted 16 February 2009 - 02:08 PM

 Someone already explained this for me awhile back, but it would be good to have in the FAQ:
How does Gambler interact with Oracle since one forces reveal and one refuses to reveal?






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS