From the old website: (http://www.fantasyfl...list/14983.page - I am posting the actual threads even though the links are above in case the old forums go down)
JR from FFG said to get him a list of CotDP questions and he'll try to get them answered. This would be all those Mythos cards that don't make sense, all the encounters that are confusing, whatever. I would like to try to compile the list here so that we don't miss anything. Please add your questions below and I will organize by subject in this post. Once we think we have a majority of them, I'll let JR know what we have. Thanks!
Cursed Relics - What does it mean to "exhaust a ready Exhibit Item"? Do you simply have to exhaust any Exhbit Item that you have? Is it an Item that must be able to be exhausted (such as the masks)? If you exhaust a Mask, does the ability take effect immediately and continue to count down?
River Breeches the Levee - This card places 2 Exhibit Items on the board. When the Environment is replaced, do these cards get picked up from the board or do they remain until an investigator grabs them? Is one item only available to the first investigator to reach them (the wording makes it sound like the only the first one reached is available and the 2nd would disappear when the 1st is taken)?
Summoning Glass - How does this item work with other abilities that affect Special abilities? Can you use the ability if the location is Closed? Can this item be used to "open" locations closed by Tsathoggua when he is the GOO? Can this item be used to access the Strange High House on the HIll?
The biggest issue I have run into is "Verbage" conflicts that don't match the current rules. Is it possible to clear up the cards affecting "location, area, neighborhood ect." so these occurances are easily understood under the current rules and reference material. Thanks for your time.
What happens when a monster with the Elusive ability Surprises you?
Does Rex Murphy lose stamina for having his Curse when the Dark Pharaoh is the herald?
An encounter at the Silver Twilight Lodge forces you to have an encounter at the City of the Great Race, rewarding you with a membership and a clue token if "you passed a test or defeated a monster encountered there." Does "test" mean "skill check"?
A General Store encounter offers all investigators to give the player having the encounter any amount of money to "purchase a single Common Item of his or her choice at list price." Is that his or her choice from the deck, or from some certain number drawn off the top? In the latter, can Ashcan Pete buy from the bottom?
The encounter also says you hand off the item when you enter the same location as the player who requested it. Is that literally a "location," or is it any space?
Can you "discard all of your money to become blessed" if you have no money?
A Bank encounter says "you may trade in monster and gate trophies to be Blessed as described at the Church" or be Blessed for free if you have certain items. Can you bless another investigator instead, as that is described as part of the Church's special ability? If Tsathoggua is the Ancient One, are you prevented from doing one or both actions regardless of meeting the requirements?
The Shround of Shadows spell has a sanity cost of "Special." You first attempt to cast the spell, and then if you succeed, you decide how much sanity to forfeit. Does this spell have a sanity cost of 0 (for encounters that require such spells)?
An encounter reads:
If you have any Exhibit Items, Father Michael calls them profane works and demands that you destroy them. If you refuse, you're Barred from Southside. If you agree, you gain 1 Sanity and 1 Clue token per item discarded.
Can you choose to discard only some? If you do, are you still barred?
Does Kate Withrop's ability prevent encountering the Mi-Go at the Science Building or the God of the Bloody Tongue in the Other World encounter?
Are Epic Battle cards meant to be used when fighting an Ancient One as the result of a dual-colored gate encounter?
Are other effects related to the Ancient One, such as Sealing the Beast's Power mission and Joey the Rat Blight card, counted during dual-color AO battles? If so, are either disregarded for final battle with the AO in play?
Is the toughness reduction from Plague of Locusts permanent? If not, when does the effect wear off?
When you are granted bonuses or penalties "on all checks against monsters," Does "against" only mean Evade, Combat, and Horror checks? Or does it mean all checks made while the investigator is in combat or dealing with the monster (checks for combat or non-combat spells; special monster checks, like with the Bloated Woman or the Black Man)?
An Other World encounter lets you discard spells as though they were clue tokens during "this combat." For which skill checks may they be spent (as illustrated by the above question)?
When encountering multiple monsters as the result of an Arkham or Other world encounter, do you draw them all at the same time? Can you choose the order in which you encounter them?
When an investigator discards clue tokens because of gaining the Amnesia madness card as a result of going insane, does another investigator with the Book of Anubis gain those clues?
Can The Messenger be discarded to prevent being devoured when:
Your sanity and stamina reach 0 at the same time?
Your maximum sanity or stamina reach 0?
You are Lost in Time and Space when Yog-Sothoth is the AO?
You cannot pay the "toll" when Abhoth or Tsathoggua attack during Final Battle?
You reach 0 trophies/clues when Yog-Sothoth/Shub-Niggurath/Nyarlathotep attacks during final battle?
Glaaki sets the Terror Level to 10 during final battle?
Shudde M'ell attacks when he has no rubble tokens left?
You have no trophies/clues when Yog/Shub/Nyar awaken?
You fail the roll to resist the effect of a Brood token?
Atlach-Nacha attacks the investigator with F.I. as the ally (he would then be discarded back to the ally deck)?
You accept The Mi-Go offer for "immortality"? Do you still seal the Yuggoth gate?
You "push through the walls of fatigue and confusion"...and seal the gate through which you entered by sacrificing yourself? Is it then still sealed?
In the Plateau of Leng encounter where you keep losing 1 stamina until you can pass an increasingly difficult Will check, what happens when it is impossible for Michael McGlen to pass the check?
The Strange Ornithological Sightings mythos card says flying monsters "do not attack investigators with Exhibit items until the end of next turn. Does this mean that flying monsters disregard those investigators when they move? Do investigaters get to freely ignore those monsters? What about whent they appear as the result of an encounter? What if they Surprise the investigator?
The Bank Foreclosure mythos card says investigators with outstanding Bank Loans "must pay them off immediately," but provides a penalty "if you cannot or will not pay". Can the investigators choose not to pay?
Do investigators lose sanity for taking Unique items from other investigators, or become Cursed when taking Exhibit items from other investigators, when the Dark Pharaoh herald is in play?
For the rumor Return to the Old Ways, does discarding a Common Item to pass the rumor subject to being discarded on a roll of 1 or 2, thereby not passing the rumor? Do Common Items discarded for other purposes, including their own uses, counted for passing the rumor?
For the Cursed Relics rumor, when a player discards/exhausts the unique/exhibit items, is the doom token supposed to be removed from the rumor, with no effect?
For the Plague of Insects environment, does "end their turns in the street" mean ending their movement in the street?
For the Museum Haunted headline, does "destroy one of these Ghosts" only mean passing a combat check against them? Can two Exhibit items be gained by destroying both Ghosts?
Are monster trophies re-killed by the Corpses Preserved headline really returned to the box, or are they supposed to be returned to the cup?
For Escape From Arkham Asylum and Museum Haunted, are Maniacs/Ghosts that have been returned to the box from the Corpses Preserved mythos card also drawn?
In the Other World encounter where all the monsters on the gate you enter appear, is Kate Withrop exempt?
An Other World encounter causes one of your random monster trophies to "return to life and surprise you." If you evade or are defeated by the monster, is it returned to the cup or box? Is it kept as a trophy?
Do you discard the Harried card when two or more monsters appear simultaneously during an encounter?
Do you discard Anointed, Psychic, or Private Investigator when you are Cursed/LiTas/Barred when you receive the Benefit card, or do you discard them the next time you're Cursed/Litas/Barred?
Does Erich Weiss or Father Iwanicki un-delay/un-curse you when you gain them as allies, or do they just prevent the next time you're delayed/cursed?
The Local Guide card reads:
Movement: Your speed is reduced by 1 as you show your visitor around Arkham. Does it mean Movement, or is your actual Speed stat 1 less during the Movement phase?
What happens if you become barred from a neighborhood you're already barred from? Would you lose your Private Investigator card if this were to happen, even though you're already barred from that neighborhood? (Yes forum cultists, this scenario is possible).
In the encounter where "your clue tokens double," does Rex also gain an additional clue?
When an encounter says your turn ends, does that mean nothing further happens during the encounter phase, or are you restricted from performing actions for the rest of the entire round (through the Mythos phase)?
Does it really say "Erica Carlyle is slumming it"???
At the Witch House, there is an encounter where you can make a skill check and gain clues equal to the number of successes or spells for every 2 successes. Can you gain some combination of the two rewards?
An encounter states that if you fail a certain check, "you immediately go insane." Does that mean you must reduce your sanity to 0 and go insane because of that, or is it otherwise identical to going insane but without reducing your sanity to 0?
An encounter lets you put tokens onto the Food item. When you use Food, you may discard one token instead of the Food. Can this be used multiple times for the same source of stamina loss?
Does "your turn ends" mean the same as "nothing happens" or "have no encounter," or is it different?
A Newspaper encounter offers you to discard monster trophies and gain $1 or 2 Clues for each toughness. Is it supposed to say "$2 or 1 Clue"?
A Curiosity Shoppe encounter has you draw 3 Common Items. "You may purchase any of the drawn items for $1 less than the list price, and must discard the rest." Can you purchase more than one of these items?
The five Mask Exhibit items allow you to gain the special ability of all of the other base investigators, except Vincent Lee. This seems to cause a strange imbalance between sanity and stamina. Is this intentional?
On the dual-color "fight a GOO" cards, how exactly does the battle progress? Just like the final fight, with extra upkeeps and what not? Or like a normal monster fight, only with no Horror or Evade checks?