Jump to content



Photo

Op Fire Question


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Dr. Wacko

Dr. Wacko

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 January 2012 - 08:25 PM

At the end of a round I had a squad of two basic infantry troops and a mortar unit which I set to OP Fire. The two infantry units ended up getting killed leaving my mortar crew in OP Fire. According to the rules mortars can't OP Fire.

In this case do I fatigue the mortar team or do I remove the OP Fire token from that unit and attack with my mortar squad?



#2 RAF1945

RAF1945

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 28 January 2012 - 08:17 AM

 I would say fatigue the unit... 



#3 Aussie_Digger

Aussie_Digger

    Member

  • Members
  • 323 posts

Posted 28 January 2012 - 12:26 PM

I agree, and have done this in games where this has come up. Normally the only way to remove a OP fire token is via a card from one of the Strategy decks. Losing your troops should be a disadvantage not an adavantage.



#4 San

San

    Member

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 29 January 2012 - 07:12 PM

I would say that it willl stay in Op Fire (without an opportunity of resolving) till the end of the turn or till the moment of using an appropriate card, that removes op Fire token. So it's not fatigued in the meaning of spotting another mortar crew for instance 



#5 KlausFritsch

KlausFritsch

    Member

  • Members
  • 734 posts

Posted 30 January 2012 - 09:42 PM

San said:

I would say that it willl stay in Op Fire (without an opportunity of resolving) till the end of the turn or till the moment of using an appropriate card, that removes op Fire token. So it's not fatigued in the meaning of spotting another mortar crew for instance 

I agree.



#6 TheKaiser33

TheKaiser33

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 31 January 2012 - 05:21 AM

We always interpreted the rule to mean that the squad containing the mortar couldn't even be put into opfire.



#7 KlausFritsch

KlausFritsch

    Member

  • Members
  • 734 posts

Posted 31 January 2012 - 05:45 PM

TheKaiser33 said:

We always interpreted the rule to mean that the squad containing the mortar couldn't even be put into opfire.

 

Well, the rules say:

No Opportunity Fire: A mortar figure cannot participate in opportunity fire (even if other figures in its squad are doing so).

That clearly limits the restriction to the mortar figures. If the squad also contains other figures, they may use Op Fire.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS