Jump to content



Photo

Controlling an Area You Retreat To


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Reynier

Reynier

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 26 January 2012 - 08:54 AM

Me and my friends got into an argument about this.  Let's say you are defeated in battle and retreat into an empty area that has a castle or stronghold in it.  Do I know control that area since I have units in there?  And, if so, does that mean that my Victory Points go up?

Some were arguing that you can only control an area by marching into it.  If you have units on an area that were routed into that area you don't control it unless you march.  That would mean I have to leave the area then come back to it which sounds silly to me.

Personally I think you should be able to control it.  You retreated from battle into an empty castle and now it's yours.

What do you think?



#2 SexyMike44

SexyMike44

    Member

  • Members
  • 55 posts

Posted 26 January 2012 - 09:51 AM

it does seem like a cheesy way to gain a castle, but i don't think you should have to retreat from it then remarch into it.

By the rules, i say it is yours when you have units there, doesn't matter how they got there. If they are routed, someone can easy take that area from you.

maybe a house rule saying you have to wait a turn to claim it as a vicory point?



#3 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 400 posts

Posted 26 January 2012 - 05:38 PM

 

Of course you control it!  If nobody is home, and you move in, it's yours -- even if you were routed.

 

"A House is said to control a land area when it has at least one Footman, Knight, or Siege Engine in the area."



#4 hein.dejager

hein.dejager

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 27 January 2012 - 02:42 AM

It sounds like you may be right. After reading through the rulebook again, this is what I came up with: The retreat /routing rules state that defending units that retreat can retreat to any empty adjacent area as long as they don't break the supply limit. They are turned on their side to indicate they are routed, so they provide no combat strength.  For all intents and purposes all other rules still apply. You gain a castle/stronghold. :)  Imagine walking into Harrenhal and nobody's home. 



#5 Reynier

Reynier

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 27 January 2012 - 10:56 AM

Thanks a lot for the feedback folks :)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS