According to the TI3 rule book, page 22, production capacity is the maximum number of units a player may produce at a given Space Dock.
2 GFs take up 2 slots in the production capacity even if they are bought at the cost of 1 resource.
For example: a Space Dock on a planet with a resource of 4 has a production capacity of 6 [planet 4 + Space Dock 2]; therefore, a maximum of 6 units, no matter the cost, can be produced at that Space Dock (i.e. 6 Ground Forces at the cost of 3 resources).
Using the logic above, how does the question below make any sense at all? What does production capacity have to do with the cost? Up until now, I thought the two were completely independant from each other.
Q. Can 2 Arborec Ground Forces produce 2 Ground Forces for the cost of 1, thereby pooling their production capacity?
A. No, their production capacity may not be pooled.
Based on the answer and on the definition of "Production Capacity" in the TI3 main rule book, the Ground Forces' production capacity is not cumulative. That is to say, 10 Ground Forces only have a production capacity of 1 (NOT 10).
Please clarify once and for all, explaining clearly the distinction between production capacity and resource cost with regard to Arborec Ground Forces.