Jump to content



Photo

Rules Question Ghost as Front Unit drawing first card Stopper (german: Funktionsblockade) from deck


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 blunzn

blunzn

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 January 2012 - 10:31 PM

Hi!

Following situation occured yesterday: 2 Reavers attacking 1 Ghost. Terran player decides to draw the first Combat card from deck and play it right away. The card turns out to be stopper (german: Funktionsblockade). Fits to ghost, takes away ground- and air combat ability from the reavers. Discussion was: Since it is only allowed to draw 1 card, but the drawn card is not a combat card but a support card. Does the card count? What is the correct outcome of this battle?

thanks in advance!!



#2 cyb3k

cyb3k

    Member

  • Members
  • 278 posts

Posted 18 January 2012 - 11:11 PM

When you play a card to a skirmish directly from a deck, that card has to contain any attack and health values (you still use major if unit fits to a card or minor otherwise).  Support cards (like "Lockdown" in your example) has to be discarded without any effect and you have to replace them by another card from a top of a deck.

In skirmish where you play a card from a deck, you can't have any support cards (that's why you'll always have only 1 card played there).



#3 blunzn

blunzn

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 January 2012 - 11:48 PM

Damn!

Would have been too nice for me if the Ghost could have defended that attack with Lockdown, and it would have made sense in a way: Instead of fighting, the ghost casts the special ability and survives. We couldn't find the "discard support cards until you draw combat card"-ruling in the rules and after half an hour of discussion tossed a coin on survival or death. Coin killed ghost. Sort of decided the whole game.

Thanks for the quick response!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS