Jump to content



Photo

Triggered effects list and sequence of play


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 zeb

zeb

    Member

  • Members
  • 292 posts

Posted 31 December 2011 - 03:10 AM

If like me you have struggled to play triggered effects at the correct time in the sequence of play, I have compiled a list of these effects I found in the cards in the Core and expansion sets and placed them relatively to sequence chart extracts according to the rules, FAQ and latest clarifications from Nate. I also give an example of a card for each one of these. I only omitted the "during X phase" triggers as they are ususally condition specific (in addition to time specific) and tricky to place in the chart.

I hope this may be useful. Also, please let me know if I missed some or if I made some errors.
 

Forced: Before X is dealt damage
Forced: After the players quest successfully
Forced: After the players have quested unsuccessfully
Forced: After resolving a quest to which X was committed
Forced: After this stage is defeated
Forced: At the end of the quest phase

Phase 3 : Quest
     …
    Step 2: Staging
       
Forced: Before X is dealt damage [Patrol Leader KD] (e.g. Thalin's effect)
    Step 3 : Quest Resolution
    Willpower > Threat

        Forced: After the players quest successfully [The Hunt Begins THFG]
    or Willpower < Threat
        Forced: After the players have quested unsuccessfully [Dungeon Jailor]
    If Location/Quest complete, advance Location/Quest
        Forced: After resolving a quest to which X was committed [Escort from Edoras AJtR]
        Forced: After this stage is defeated [The Capture TDM]
    Player Actions
        Forced: At the end of the quest phase [Gollum TDM]


Forced: At the beginning of the encounter phase

Phase 5 : Encounter
        Forced: At the beginning of the encounter phase [Attercop, Attercop RtM]
    Step 1 : Player Engagement
    …



Forced: When X attacks

Forced: When X attacks, deal Y to defender
Forced: At the beginning of the combat phase
Forced: After a shadow effect dealt to X resolves
Forced: After X/it attacks
Forced: After an attack in which X defends resolves
Shadow: After this/its attack resolves
Forced: When X is attacked
Forced: Before X is dealt damage
Forced: After an attack in which X attacked resolves
Response: After attached hero attacks and destroys an enemy
Forced : at the end of the combat phase
Shadow : after combat

Phase 6 : Combat
        Forced: At the beginning of the combat phase [Ambush RtM]
    Deal Shadow Cards
    Player Actions
    Enemy Attacks

        Step 1:
Choose an Engaged Enemy
            Forced: When X attacks [Dol Guldur Beastmaster]
        Step 2: Declare Defender
           
Forced: When X attacks, deal Y to defender [Snow Warg TRG]
        Step 3 : Resolve Shadow Effects

            Forced: After a shadow effect dealt to X resolves [Nazgul of Dol Guldur]
        Player Actions
        Step 4 : Determine Combat Damage (combat is resolved)

            Forced: After X/it attacks [The Witch-king TmaO / Wargs]
            Forced: After an attack in which X defends resolves [Winged Guardian THfG]
            Shadow: After this/its attack resolves [Rauros Fall THoEM]
        Player Actions
    Player Attacks
        Step 1 : Declare target and attackers
           
Forced: When X is attacked [Grasping/Trashing Tentacle TWitW]
        Step 2 : Determine attack strength
        Step 3 : Determine Combat Damage (combat is resolved)

            Forced: Before X is dealt damage [Patrol Leader KD]
            Forced: After an attack in which X attacked resolves [Vassal of the Windlord TDM]
            Response: After attached hero attacks and destroys an enemy [Blade of Gondolin]
        Player Actions
        Discard remaining Shadow Cards

            Forced : at the end of the combat phase [Goblin Sniper]
            Shadow : after combat [Wolf Rider]


Forced: during the refresh phase
At the end of the round

Phase 7 : Refresh
    …
    Step 2 : Raise Threat by 1

        Forced: during the refresh phase [Gladden Fields]
    …
    Player Actions

        At the end of the round [Gandalf]



#2 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 31 December 2011 - 04:40 AM

 I think this is accurate, and very easy to read.  Nice work. :)



#3 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,774 posts

Posted 31 December 2011 - 04:49 AM

yeah, great stuff zeb


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#4 juicebox

juicebox

    Member

  • Members
  • 545 posts

Posted 31 December 2011 - 06:01 AM

Dear FFG,

Please sticky this thread.

Thanks,

juicebox

PS: Thanks to you zeb. Very helpful resource!



#5 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,774 posts

Posted 31 December 2011 - 06:19 AM

juicebox said:

 

Dear FFG,

Please sticky this thread.

Thanks,

juicebox

PS: Thanks to you zeb. Very helpful resource!

 

 

 

yes stickying this would be good ..........but is this forum even moderated?


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#6 zeb

zeb

    Member

  • Members
  • 292 posts

Posted 31 December 2011 - 06:56 AM

Thanks, everybody for your feedback.



#7 LEGA

LEGA

    Member

  • Members
  • 95 posts

Posted 02 January 2012 - 09:31 PM

Very nice!

Only one thing:

zeb said:

Phase 3 : Quest

    Step 3 : Quest Resolution
    Willpower > Threat

        Forced: After the players quest successfully [The Hunt Begins THFG]
    or Willpower < = Threat
        Forced: After the players have quested unsuccessfully [Dungeon Jailor]

I think that there should be Willpower <  Threat, without "=".

 



#8 zeb

zeb

    Member

  • Members
  • 292 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 01:43 AM

LEGA said:

 

I think that there should be Willpower <  Threat, without "=".

I am not sure. I think that you are considered having quested successfully only if Willpower is strictly higher than Threat. Otherwise it is not successful. I'll check, but I think it is in the FAQ.

Unrelated: I am also planning to add some during and defeated conditions too.



#9 LEGA

LEGA

    Member

  • Members
  • 95 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 02:55 AM

I'm not sure too but:

1. FAQ: As soon as the players determine that the total committed Willpower is greater than the total Threat in the staging area, they are considered to have quested successfully.

2. Rules: If the Willpower is higher, the players have successfully quested, and they make progress on the quest.

If the Threat power is higher, the players have unsuccessfully quested, and they are driven back by the encounter deck.

So in case of tie quest is neither successful nor unsuccessful.

Or you mean that they include it in FAQ to determine the tie case to be unsuccessful?



#10 zeb

zeb

    Member

  • Members
  • 292 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 04:12 AM

LEGA said:

Or you mean that they include it in FAQ to determine the tie case to be unsuccessful?

Well, I am not sure anymore. Indeed I thought that the FAQ defined the successful case and that all other cases meant unsuccessful, including when Willpower and Threat are equal. Does that mean that if they are equal, then one does not apply either succesful and unsuccessful triggers?



#11 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 04:54 AM

zeb said:

Does that mean that if they are equal, then one does not apply either succesful and unsuccessful triggers?

 

That was my understanding, yes.



#12 zeb

zeb

    Member

  • Members
  • 292 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 05:44 AM

radiskull said:

zeb said:

 

Does that mean that if they are equal, then one does not apply either succesful and unsuccessful triggers?

 

 

 

That was my understanding, yes.

 

Alright, I need to correct the chart then. I'll do it with the next additions.



#13 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,774 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 05:48 AM

zeb said:

radiskull said:

 

zeb said:

 

Does that mean that if they are equal, then one does not apply either succesful and unsuccessful triggers?

 

 

 

That was my understanding, yes.

 

 

 

Alright, I need to correct the chart then. I'll do it with the next additions.

 

this is news to me too, is this the actual ruling then, so if a card states if players quest unsuccessfully do such and such, and you end up being equal that card effect doesnt happen?


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#14 silverhand77

silverhand77

    Member

  • Members
  • 203 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 09:11 AM

richsabre said:

zeb said:

 

radiskull said:

 

zeb said:

Does that mean that if they are equal, then one does not apply either succesful and unsuccessful triggers?

That was my understanding, yes.

 Alright, I need to correct the chart then. I'll do it with the next additions.

 

 

 this is news to me too, is this the actual ruling then, so if a card states if players quest unsuccessfully do such and such, and you end up being equal that card effect doesnt happen?

On P14 of the rules it says "If the combined committed willpower score is equal to the combined threat score in the staging area: no progress tokens are placed. and the players do not increase their threat dials"

So Becuase the players have neither quested successfully nor unsuccessfully, any effects triggered by questing successfully or unsuccessfully would not occur. You could see it as the party is stuck, they haven't made progress but they haven't lost ground either.

I'm curious as to how you've been playing in this situation?



#15 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,774 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 09:17 AM

silverhand77 said:

richsabre said:

 

zeb said:

 

radiskull said:

 

zeb said:

Does that mean that if they are equal, then one does not apply either succesful and unsuccessful triggers?

That was my understanding, yes.

 Alright, I need to correct the chart then. I'll do it with the next additions.

 

 

 this is news to me too, is this the actual ruling then, so if a card states if players quest unsuccessfully do such and such, and you end up being equal that card effect doesnt happen?

 

 

On P14 of the rules it says "If the combined committed willpower score is equal to the combined threat score in the staging area: no progress tokens are placed. and the players do not increase their threat dials"

So Becuase the players have neither quested successfully nor unsuccessfully, any effects triggered by questing successfully or unsuccessfully would not occur. You could see it as the party is stuck, they haven't made progress but they haven't lost ground either.

I'm curious as to how you've been playing in this situation?

 

ive been playing it as equal threat=unsucessfull questing, but i do see the above points as more valid


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#16 ziryab1

ziryab1

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 09:20 AM

radiskull said:

zeb said:

 

Does that mean that if they are equal, then one does not apply either succesful and unsuccessful triggers?

 

 

 

That was my understanding, yes.

radiskull said:

zeb said:

 

Does that mean that if they are equal, then one does not apply either succesful and unsuccessful triggers?

 

 

 

That was my understanding, yes.

 

This is how I have been playing as well. You are neither were successful nor unsuccessful.



#17 juicebox

juicebox

    Member

  • Members
  • 545 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 02:26 PM

zeb - thanks again for creating this thread. I think it's a great resource.

That said, I don't know if you want to expand it or not, but I was thinking that adding "adventure specific" sections could be quite helpful.

For example, Hunt for Gollum and Dead Marshes (others too, but those two especially come to mind) have some unique aspects added to the questing phase and/or the escape check mechanic. It seems like there are frequent questions and common misunderstandings that pop up around those elements all the time.

Anyway, no pressure to add to what you've got, but it would compliment well what you already have going here.



#18 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,038 posts

Posted 03 January 2012 - 08:40 PM

ziryab1 said:

This is how I have been playing as well. You are neither were successful nor unsuccessful.

Seconded (or thirded?).



#19 zeb

zeb

    Member

  • Members
  • 292 posts

Posted 04 January 2012 - 02:21 AM

juicebox said:

Anyway, no pressure to add to what you've got, but it would compliment well what you already have going here.

Many thanks, that is a good idea indeed. I do not have a lot of time now, but will try to continue this chart as much as possible.



#20 HilariousPete

HilariousPete

    Member

  • Members
  • 342 posts

Posted 04 January 2012 - 05:40 AM

Great list, thx for compiling it, zeb!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS