Jump to content



Photo

Gold coins on Great People? Can I use them for investing?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 kcjones2000

kcjones2000

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 17 December 2011 - 04:53 AM

According to the rules on page 13 of Fame and Fortune. "Only Coin Tokens may be invested - not coins printed on the map, tech map, or tech cards, or on buildings cannot be invested.' I understand the rational behind why coins that are printed on the previous mentioned items should not be used for purchasing (or being exchanged) for investment markers in investment BUT why does the same restriction not apply to Great Person markers that have gold coins printed on them as well? Was it an accidental omission from the rules or is there another reason that Gold Coins on Great People was not listed as a printed material coin that was restricted?

Slightly confused..... 



#2 Tepes

Tepes

    Member

  • Members
  • 48 posts

Posted 17 December 2011 - 08:22 AM

In my opinion it is an omission.

The "investible" coins all take the form of a coin token like those on tech cards or those given to you by Mother Teresa or A Gift From Afar. This makes accounting easy.



#3 Emyr Thy King

Emyr Thy King

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 15 June 2012 - 10:32 AM

There's something in the rules about loot where it says you can "force the loser to discard a coin token of the winner's choice". Why the "of the winner's choice"? I haven't played the game properly as we only had a quick run-through. But do some coin tokens end up on tech cards for some reason?



#4 Piotrek

Piotrek

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 16 June 2012 - 11:58 AM

Beacuse for example it is harder for your opponent to gain coin tokens by winning battles, so you choose to discard coin token from "code of laws".






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS