Jump to content



Photo

Question about tech


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 numerounoarnold

numerounoarnold

    Member

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 30 January 2009 - 01:51 PM

What happens if you complete or discard a tech and don't have any colonies for your researching ships to return to? This has happened a couple of times in our games and we have yet to come up with a satisfactory resolution.



#2 Toomai

Toomai

    Member

  • Members
  • 189 posts

Posted 30 January 2009 - 02:59 PM

If you must return ships to colonies and you have none, the ships go to the warp. (With the exception of the ship you retrive at the start of an encounter - it goes right into the cone.)

Yes, it sucks big-time, but what else can you do.



#3 Messianic

Messianic

    Member

  • Members
  • 115 posts

Posted 30 January 2009 - 04:34 PM

This is actually an extremely effective way to win with the Masochist, take a ship from the Warp at the beginning of your turn and plop that sucker onto a Tech; as good as dead!



#4 Toomai

Toomai

    Member

  • Members
  • 189 posts

Posted 31 January 2009 - 02:29 AM

Messianic said:

This is actually an extremely effective way to win with the Masochist, take a ship from the Warp at the beginning of your turn and plop that sucker onto a Tech; as good as dead!
Uh, I think everyone has to research their techs before the offense gets a ship back. It's still an effective idea, though - stack as many ships on a tech as you can, lose the rest of your ships, then release the researching ships to win.



#5 thanosquest

thanosquest

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 July 2010 - 02:18 PM

QUESTION???

Here's the situation... During an encounter, the cone was placed on the defender's planet with two ships on it. I was attacking with 8 ships (including ally) then he used at the planning phase the Gluon Mines Tech with 6 ships. Returning them afterwards to his colonies.

Now here's the catch... he (the defence) opted to return his 6 ships back on the colony wich was under attack, to increase his numer to 8 ships total.

My understanding was that after the cone as been lauched and a colony/planet selected, there can be no added or substacted ships from it (other then oozing Amoeba).

The defence argues that after using his Tech (Gluon Mines) e can return to any colony the remaining 6 ships, including the colony that was targeted because it is still his colony.

Whose right?



#6 Toomai

Toomai

    Member

  • Members
  • 189 posts

Posted 29 July 2010 - 01:23 AM

thanosquest said:

QUESTION???

Here's the situation... During an encounter, the cone was placed on the defender's planet with two ships on it. I was attacking with 8 ships (including ally) then he used at the planning phase the Gluon Mines Tech with 6 ships. Returning them afterwards to his colonies.

Now here's the catch... he (the defence) opted to return his 6 ships back on the colony wich was under attack, to increase his numer to 8 ships total.

My understanding was that after the cone as been lauched and a colony/planet selected, there can be no added or substacted ships from it (other then oozing Amoeba).

The defence argues that after using his Tech (Gluon Mines) e can return to any colony the remaining 6 ships, including the colony that was targeted because it is still his colony.

Whose right?

There is nothing wrong with returning ships to the colony that's involved in the encounter. Players cannot normally move ships around during Planning and Reveal, but if something lets them, it's okay to put them on the attacked colony. The catch is that ships in the cone do not count as colonies, so you can't finish a tech as the offense and pile ships in the cone.



#7 Just_a_Bill

Just_a_Bill

    Member

  • Members
  • 220 posts

Posted 29 July 2010 - 05:51 AM

Toomai said:

There is nothing wrong with returning ships to the colony that's involved in the encounter.

 

Agreed.

 

Toomai said:

ships in the cone do not count as colonies, so you can't finish a tech as the offense and pile ships in the cone.

 

That's also true.  This question would only come up, though, if the offense revealed Tech Scrambler to cancel Gluon Mines.  That's the only situation in which a tech can be completed/revealed by the offense (or an ally) while he has ships in the gate.

Wait, I found a situation where you can pull it off: if you're Leviathan you could send your Tech Scrambler researchers to the colony on your worldship in the gate.  What a fun (i.e., nasty) reversal: the defense was expecting to knock out 6 offensive ships, but instead ended up facing 6 or more extra ships in the cone; ouch.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS