• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 MahatmaManic

MahatmaManic

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 November 2011 - 03:29 PM

Hey all, 

I'm pretty new to the game, and working on putting together my first deck. I've taken a bit of a shine to the Dark Elf cards (plus I used to play DE in Warhammer RTs/GTs, so...) and am trying to work with those.

Currently I'm slightly limited, as I currently only have 2x Core Set, 2x Assault on Ulthuan, March of the Damned, and Legends. That being the case, here's what I tried to put together. 

3 Walking Sacrifice
3 Dark Initiate
3 Shades
3 Thief of Essence
2 Vile Sorceress
3 Cold One Knight
2 Mortella
3 Seasoned Corsair
3 Black Dragon Rider

3 Innovation
3 Lash the Prisoner
3 Chillwind
2 Take Captive

3 Mind Killer
3 Contested Village
3 Corsair Raider
3 Har Ganeth
3 Slave Pen

I don't know if my instincts are right yet for percentages or for costs, but I tried to keep most costs pretty low, with just a few heavy hitters, and to focus on quite a lot of shenanigans. In general the idea is to ramp up resources quickly by using Slave Pen, Walking Sacrifice, Initiate, Lash, and Innovation. Then start messing with the other player's attacks and defenses and picking off damaged units with HP manipulation. 

Does this look like a good start? Way off base? Are there other cards from those sets that I should have in here, or obvious stinkers that I've included that I should leave out?

#2 Shindulus

Shindulus

• Members
  • 280 posts

Posted 21 November 2011 - 09:44 PM

Your "instinct" is right ;). You just have to play and play, to see which card is really efficient or not.

#3 BBSB12

BBSB12

• Members
  • 165 posts

Posted 23 November 2011 - 03:12 PM

Looks good. Though, Lash the Prisoner is not that great, since you have to sacrifice your own unit to get 2 resources (which means exchanging 2 cards for 2 resources), while you can put a Warpstone Excavation instead.