Jump to content



Photo

Out of Thin Air clarification


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 okorz001

okorz001

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 13 November 2011 - 06:55 PM

 The Out of Thin Air event card contains the following text:

    Instinct: Choose a Space Marine. Spawn 2 Genestealers behind him.

Suppose a marine is facing left and the right blip pile is currently empty. Is it legal to choose this marine and thus avoid spawning any Genestealers (since the appropriate blip pile is empty)?

 



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,290 posts

Posted 14 November 2011 - 03:22 AM

okorz001 said:

 The Out of Thin Air event card contains the following text:

    Instinct: Choose a Space Marine. Spawn 2 Genestealers behind him.

Suppose a marine is facing left and the right blip pile is currently empty. Is it legal to choose this marine and thus avoid spawning any Genestealers (since the appropriate blip pile is empty)?

Page 14 of the rules uses the very card as an example...

And no, you have to choose a marine facing right if you can.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 okorz001

okorz001

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 14 November 2011 - 04:19 PM

Dam said:

okorz001 said:

 

 The Out of Thin Air event card contains the following text:

    Instinct: Choose a Space Marine. Spawn 2 Genestealers behind him.

Suppose a marine is facing left and the right blip pile is currently empty. Is it legal to choose this marine and thus avoid spawning any Genestealers (since the appropriate blip pile is empty)?

 

 

Page 14 of the rules uses the very card as an example...

And no, you have to choose a marine facing right if you can.

Well... now I feel dumb. I missed that little blurp about always choosing valid targets for Event cards. I assumed that since only some of them say "if able" that it wasn't always mandatory.

Thanks for the answer.



#4 Uncle Kulikov

Uncle Kulikov

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 24 January 2012 - 05:45 AM

 I always played that things that didn't refer to the blip piles spawned from the Genestealer deck, which is wrong. It solved this issue, but sure did screw us over with tons of "free" genestealers!



#5 C4libr3

C4libr3

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 30 January 2012 - 07:08 AM

Where is correct to draw? Blip pile or genestealers deck?



#6 Uncle Kulikov

Uncle Kulikov

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 30 January 2012 - 08:15 AM

 Always from the blip piles.



#7 Tromdial

Tromdial

    Member

  • Members
  • 580 posts

Posted 05 February 2012 - 07:26 AM

Uncle Kulikov said:

 Always from the blip piles.

Unless otherwise stated; a couple cards say to spawn from the gene-stealer deck. Most, however, do state to spawn from the blips.

Now I have a question: how is one of the gene-stealer decks emptied out? Wouldn't that mean you would travel, which would create new blip decks?

The only way I can see this happening is if you are at the final location, and yes, it would make sense to then spawn from what blip was left.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS