In campaign mode (Sea of Blood), is the overlord limited to using just five power dice? The Descent base rulebook on page 17 specifies a 5-power dice limit but it seems to refer to heroes only. I've looked in the other rulebooks and through the FAQ but may have missed it.
My question is related to the final battle in Sea of Blood using the avatar, Captain Bones. If I purchase all three "Dark Strength" avatar upgrades, I add three gold power dice when attacking. Does that mean I can add those gold dice to cannon attacks (where I already have 1 gold, 2 silver and 2 black "trait dice" per page 91 of the SoB rulebook) for a total of 8 power dice?