Jump to content



Photo

Pushing psychic powers, multiple phenomena rolls?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Jerrith

Jerrith

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 04 November 2011 - 10:47 PM

Page 207 describes the three levels a psyker can use his powers at.  Under the push description, it states "Regardless of the test's result, the psyker will automatically generate a significant disturbance in the warp and must roll twice on Table 6-2: Psychic Phenomena, applying one or both results, depending on the psyker's nature as described in Table 6-1: Psychic Strength."

Ok so when a psyker pushes a power, he automatically rolls twice on the phenomena table. Fair enough.  But what does the part mentioning "applying one or both results, depending on the psyker's nature" mean?  It hints that this is clarified in table 6-1, but in that table no mention is made about rolling once or twice when pushing, for any of the levels.



#2 Saibot

Saibot

    Member

  • Members
  • 114 posts

Posted 05 November 2011 - 12:18 AM

A good question, I would say.

I would assume it is either Unbound AND Daemons that have to take both or just Daemons. I am pretty sure Bound psykers will be protected from this as well, giving them the chance to pick the lesser Phenomena.



#3 Luther Engelsnot

Luther Engelsnot

    Member

  • Members
  • 103 posts

Posted 05 November 2011 - 12:37 AM

I already asked that question via the rules question button and the answer seems to be that this is a error. We should only use the table and you only roll once.
Here the official answer I received:

> 3. The last paragraph under Psychic Strength states that if a psyker uses the push strength he rolls twice on the psychic phenomena Table and applies one or both results according to his nature as per table 6-1 Psychic Strength. However the table lacks any information on this topic, so how should I determine if I should apply one or both results?

This is a mistype that will be clarified in a forthcoming FAQ/Errata. You should use Table 6–1: Psychic Strength, as that information is accurate.


German speaking Play-by-Post Forum: On-Games of the DnD-Gate

Leite:
Black Crusade - Let the Galaxy Burn! | Only War - Things Can Always Get Worse | Dark Heresy - Protokoll Deus Vult | Star Wars: Edge of the Empire - Der verlorene Schatz von Nok Drayen | Star Wars: Edge of the Empire - Zivilisation ist kein Zufall | Star Wars: Age of Rebellion - Viper-Squadron im http://games.dnd-gate.de/


#4 DJSunhammer

DJSunhammer

    Member

  • Members
  • 611 posts

Posted 05 November 2011 - 07:22 AM

In DW the rule is that a psyker using push and getting a double on the roll will automatically take a level of fatigue. Much simpler than any other rule tbh.



#5 Jerrith

Jerrith

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 05 November 2011 - 08:59 AM

Thanks for the insight, Luther! I'll pass this on to my group.

 

DJSunhammer said:

In DW the rule is that a psyker using push and getting a double on the roll will automatically take a level of fatigue. Much simpler than any other rule tbh.

That still exists, it's covered just after the "rolling once or twice" description.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS