Jump to content



Photo

Scoring omens with the Toika Heavy MG


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Advosan

Advosan

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 01 November 2011 - 01:10 AM

What happens if you score an omen with the Toika? 

Plus, since the Toika is an equippement card, do I need to spend an order card to activate it?

Does Damon Bard need to  also spend a card to activate the Toika?



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,260 posts

Posted 01 November 2011 - 06:10 AM

Advosan said:

What happens if you score an omen with the Toika? 

Plus, since the Toika is an equippement card, do I need to spend an order card to activate it?

Does Damon Bard need to  also spend a card to activate the Toika?

#1: Since nothing is mentioned, I'd say nothing.

#2: Yes.

#3: Baird can pickup or activate special abilities of tiles for free so I guess not.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Lyus Ma

Lyus Ma

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 21 December 2013 - 10:01 AM

The rules specified that you must discard a card to resolve the order card, and discard a card for each special action (picking up dropped weapon, reviving a downed cog and activating a map equipment).
My question is, if you start your turn at a troika MG and spent a card to fire the troika (discard a card for special action), do you still have to discard the mandatory order card?

#4 Angus Lee

Angus Lee

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 21 December 2013 - 09:57 PM

The rules specified that you must discard a card to resolve the order card, and discard a card for each special action (picking up dropped weapon, reviving a downed cog and activating a map equipment).
My question is, if you start your turn at a troika MG and spent a card to fire the troika (discard a card for special action), do you still have to discard the mandatory order card?

Since activating Troika is a special action, you still have to play one mandatory order card, even if you skip the action of the order card.


Once ... Always ...

My blog (in Simplified Chinese): http://blog.sina.com/b0ardgames

#5 Lyus Ma

Lyus Ma

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 21 December 2013 - 10:10 PM

Yeah, it's the only rules wise logical move. But slightly thematically flawed.
If I'm firing a machine gun, why would I fire a couple pot shot with my rifle rather than fire the machine gun on full auto?

Thanks for the clarification anyway.

#6 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,260 posts

Posted 22 December 2013 - 02:43 AM

You don't play an Order card the turn you use Toika Heavy MG. Last sentence on 16B card reads:

 

"You do not play an Order card this turn."


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#7 Lyus Ma

Lyus Ma

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 22 December 2013 - 11:15 PM

I see. Thanks for the clarification.

Ps: your avatar... makes everything you said seems angry. Hahaha...

#8 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,260 posts

Posted 23 December 2013 - 02:37 AM

Ps: your avatar... makes everything you said seems angry. Hahaha...

 

That's actually the point of it. Before the most recent change, had this grumpy looking wizard avatar, but Theodred works equally well in conveying my feelings whenever I make a post answering a rules question for which the answer could've been found in 10 seconds in the rulebook/FAQ  ;) .


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#9 Angus Lee

Angus Lee

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 23 December 2013 - 08:55 AM

You don't play an Order card the turn you use Toika Heavy MG. Last sentence on 16B card reads:

 

"You do not play an Order card this turn."

I stand corrected.  When I answered the question above, I did not have the cards in front of me; instead I just relied on the information given by the posters.


Once ... Always ...

My blog (in Simplified Chinese): http://blog.sina.com/b0ardgames

#10 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,260 posts

Posted 24 December 2013 - 03:12 AM

Same here, if you look at my first reply to this thread, I too said "yes" for having to play another Order card. Should have remembered to check the card  :unsure:


"A dirty mind is its own reward."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS