Jump to content



Photo

New Retreat Rules: clarification


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Mordechai

Mordechai

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 31 October 2011 - 12:56 AM

Since the publishing of the BoW official errata, we're playing with the new retreat rules.

Now we've a couple of questions:

1) stated that you must retreat in the primary retreat direction what happens when the retreating unit is at the edge of the board?The core rulebook says, on page 22, that a unit cannot retreat off the board but the new rules changes a lot the retreat principles.

2) when the retreating unit is on the edge of the board and has Morale (flags) results to take what happens? Like with impassable terrein, every Morale results that can't trasform in a retreat movement become an additional hit? If it's correct what happens when the attacking unit has PURSUE? The core rules on page 24 says that "In order to execute the additional attack, the unit must have moved at least one hex" so we think that it can't pursue the retreating but still unit... Correct?

Thanks...



#2 KenToad

KenToad

    Member

  • Members
  • 109 posts

Posted 31 October 2011 - 03:02 AM

Mordechai said:

Since the publishing of the BoW official errata, we're playing with the new retreat rules.

Now we've a couple of questions:

1) stated that you must retreat in the primary retreat direction what happens when the retreating unit is at the edge of the board?The core rulebook says, on page 22, that a unit cannot retreat off the board but the new rules changes a lot the retreat principles.

2) when the retreating unit is on the edge of the board and has Morale (flags) results to take what happens? Like with impassable terrein, every Morale results that can't trasform in a retreat movement become an additional hit? If it's correct what happens when the attacking unit has PURSUE? The core rules on page 24 says that "In order to execute the additional attack, the unit must have moved at least one hex" so we think that it can't pursue the retreating but still unit... Correct?

Thanks...

Treat retreating off the edge of the board like those units ran away from the battle.  Each additional retreat that cannot be resolved causes a "hit." 

As for Pursuit, you are correct.  It doesn't happen if the defending unit doesn't vacate the hex.  So, yeah, a unit forced to retreat off the edge of the board takes additional hits but cannot actually retreat and so would not trigger Pursuit unless the unit is eliminated. 



#3 Mordechai

Mordechai

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 31 October 2011 - 03:45 AM

Thank you Ken Toad!

So, my suppositions were correct in the end!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS