Jump to content



Photo

Freebooters


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 spock

spock

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 08:10 PM

So many members of our little table top BB community has picked this up and we found we had a minor rules disagreement with how Freebooter works.

the way I read it is if I draw a freebooter in my set of star players I can immeditally swap out 1 of my 'normal' players for the freebooter and then I get to pick one of the named star players.  others think that you pick 1 out of the set of star players, and if its a freebooter you follow its rules. I seek clarity from those better versues in the rules then I. (i'm more likely to be wrong in the case but I'd like the opinion of the internet)



#2 Lord_Squinty

Lord_Squinty

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 08:25 PM

You pick one (or more) cards from the star player pile.

You choose which card to keep and discard the rest.

 

If you choose a freebooter, discard 1 player from your roster (hand, team or discard pile) and put the freebooter into your team desk, then shuffle.

 

If you choose a named star player, place it on top of your team deck.

 

You only get one.

 

If I understand you, you think that you draw again until you get a named star player as well as the freebooter - this is not the case.

In fact, your way - its feasible to keep drawing and choosing freebooters and end up with 4-5 freebooters and 1 star player from 1 draw.

Not right.



#3 spock

spock

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 October 2011 - 05:34 AM

Lord_Squinty said:

If I understand you, you think that you draw again until you get a named star player as well as the freebooter - this is not the case.

In fact, your way - its feasible to keep drawing and choosing freebooters and end up with 4-5 freebooters and 1 star player from 1 draw.

Not right.

 

Thats not quite how I meant it.

lets say i get to draw 3 star players, i get 1 freebooter and 2 named stars.  My understand was I got to swap in the freebooter and then choose one of the named players.  by your post I was mistaken and thats fine.



#4 Titan

Titan

    Member

  • Members
  • 579 posts

Posted 20 October 2011 - 08:04 AM

Remember that freebooters are still considered star players, albeit generic ones. And so, they still would be considered as part of the choice you must make on whom to draft. Personally, I would have much preferred having no generic star players.



#5 Mustakrakish

Mustakrakish

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 22 October 2011 - 05:31 PM

spock said:

Lord_Squinty said:

 

If I understand you, you think that you draw again until you get a named star player as well as the freebooter - this is not the case.

In fact, your way - its feasible to keep drawing and choosing freebooters and end up with 4-5 freebooters and 1 star player from 1 draw.

Not right.

 

 

 

Thats not quite how I meant it.

lets say i get to draw 3 star players, i get 1 freebooter and 2 named stars.  My understand was I got to swap in the freebooter and then choose one of the named players.  by your post I was mistaken and thats fine.

 

That freebooter effect only happens if you choose to DRAFT the freebooter. If you draw three, for example, you have to choose one to DRAFT and put the rest back into the star player deck. Only when you DRAFT the freebooter do you go and remove of play a player in your roster, not when you are making your choice as to which star player to draft.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS