Jump to content



Photo

Question between "During this round" and "During the next round" in Event card?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 cchopman

cchopman

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 16 October 2011 - 04:40 PM

When we played the Runewar Scenarios, we confused  "During this round" with "During the next round" in some instant Event cards, such as:

Rally Forces: When a player gains units during this round, he may place those cards into his hand (instead of his discard pile).

Blood Fury: Immediately wound all units that are played in combat during the next round.

Restless Warriors: During the next round, deal 4 damage to each player’s Home Realm at the end of his turn unless he won at least 1 siege as the attacker.

A Time for War: When a player attacks a Home Realm during this round, add 2 to his total combat strength.

 

What is the timing difference between "During this round" and "Durng the next round"?

 

Thanks for reply...



#2 Maerimydra

Maerimydra

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts

Posted 16 October 2011 - 06:04 PM

cchopman said:

When we played the Runewar Scenarios, we confused  "During this round" with "During the next round" in some instant Event cards, such as:

Rally Forces: When a player gains units during this round, he may place those cards into his hand (instead of his discard pile).

Blood Fury: Immediately wound all units that are played in combat during the next round.

Restless Warriors: During the next round, deal 4 damage to each player’s Home Realm at the end of his turn unless he won at least 1 siege as the attacker.

A Time for War: When a player attacks a Home Realm during this round, add 2 to his total combat strength.

 

What is the timing difference between "During this round" and "Durng the next round"?

 

Thanks for reply...

 

Good catch cchopman. Honestly, I never noticed that before and I played all those Event cards as if they were "During this round" cards.



#3 Varikas

Varikas

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 12 September 2012 - 12:09 AM

No one can solve this question?

This should be in FAQ then.



#4 Budgernaut

Budgernaut

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,477 posts

Posted 12 September 2012 - 02:21 AM

 Considering that the event phase is at the end of a round, I think they should all say "During the next round." "This round" just doesn't make sense when you consider that everyone has already taken their turns.


"There is a fine line between neutral and amoral. In fact, there may be no line there at all."

--Count Dooku


#5 Varikas

Varikas

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 12 September 2012 - 04:02 AM

In the rule book says: "After each player has taken his turn for the round, the first player draws the top card from the Event deck…"

So I think that the event phase is considered the first part of the round and the back of the rulebook has a mistake.

I prefer to think that the back of the rulebook has a mistake than a lot of cards has a mistake…

If some cards says "during this round" and other says: "during the next round" will be to diferentiate them dont you think so?



#6 Budgernaut

Budgernaut

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,477 posts

Posted 12 September 2012 - 10:49 AM

It's still ambiguous because "After each player has taken his turn for the round" could imply that the round is over, or it could imply that all players are finished taking turns and the event phase is beginning before the new round. I'm inclined to believe the cards are just slopily written.


"There is a fine line between neutral and amoral. In fact, there may be no line there at all."

--Count Dooku


#7 Varikas

Varikas

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 12 September 2012 - 11:41 PM

Seriously? There are a few cards that put "during the next turn" … more than an oversight would seem a serious error. I think that if the cards says that, it should be correct so it would be absurd to use them at the same time.



#8 Budgernaut

Budgernaut

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,477 posts

Posted 13 September 2012 - 04:54 AM

Just got an official response:

--

Hello Budgernaut,

Your interpretation is correct. In the base game, any Event cards for the Runewars scenario with the text "during this round" should be treated as having the text "during the next round."

Thanks for playing!

James Kniffen
Associate Game Designer
Fantasy Flight Games
jkniffen@fantasyflightgames.com

--

Fortunately, there are only two cards that say "during this round": Rally Forces and A Time For War.
 


"There is a fine line between neutral and amoral. In fact, there may be no line there at all."

--Count Dooku


#9 Teokrata

Teokrata

    Member

  • Members
  • 150 posts

Posted 13 September 2012 - 04:56 AM

IMHO the best idea for second expansion to Rune Age after this one, could be a "scenario pack" with for example 6 new scenarios (about 250 cards total). Nice idea can be also 4 news scenarios and 1, maybe 2 new tactic/spell card for each race to buy it from barracks or some special bouilding played as stronghold but with higher cost and some ability working like runes or rewards ;-)



#10 Varikas

Varikas

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 13 September 2012 - 05:10 AM

thank you very much!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS