Jump to content



Photo

Bolo Grenades and the Boomshield


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 okorz001

okorz001

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 13 October 2011 - 03:52 PM

The Boomshield card states that a player may only attack with weapons that have "Pistol" in their name. Can the player still use Bolo Grenades? At face value, its a silly question because it seems like the answer is obviously no, however there are a couple exceptions to other rules concerning Bolo Grenades.



#2 Graf

Graf

    Member

  • Members
  • 304 posts

Posted 14 October 2011 - 02:19 AM

Good question. I think it should be allowed to throw grenades while wielding a boomshield. In most concerns, grenades seem to be considered as a special category of weapon and as an exception case in this boardgame – and after all, you don't need both hands to throw a grenade. I think I would allow it to use bolo grenades while carrying a boomshield. But that's a question the game designer should be asked. I hope the upcoming FAQ will address this question. 



#3 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,285 posts

Posted 14 October 2011 - 02:28 AM

I haven't found enough Bolos in the game to bother with Boomshield even if you can throw grenades while carrying it. At most, barring Emergence, you get maybe 3-4 Bolos (2 COGs start with 2 and map might have two grenade ? areas). Snub Pistol just doesn't cut it, not enough to make the +2 defense worthwhile, you'll probably get attacked more since your own attacking prowess is diminished while carrying the Boomshield.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#4 loken14

loken14

    Member

  • Members
  • 343 posts

Posted 04 March 2012 - 11:59 AM

 boomshield with the gorgan or boltok isnt so bad though I hate the snub although I do see its power I normally save at least one ammo on my lancer or just run around with the chainsaw



#5 Angus Lee

Angus Lee

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 04 March 2012 - 06:28 PM

Graf said:

Good question. I think it should be allowed to throw grenades while wielding a boomshield. In most concerns, grenades seem to be considered as a special category of weapon and as an exception case in this boardgame – and after all, you don't need both hands to throw a grenade. I think I would allow it to use bolo grenades while carrying a boomshield. But that's a question the game designer should be asked. I hope the upcoming FAQ will address this question. 

No need to wait for next FAQ, as it is in the current one:

Q: Can a player use “Bolo Grenades” while wielding the
“Boomshield”?
A: No.


Once ... Always ...

My blog (in Simplified Chinese): http://blog.sina.com/b0ardgames

#6 neu.descolado

neu.descolado

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 05 March 2012 - 01:07 AM

Angus Lee said:

Graf said:

 

Good question. I think it should be allowed to throw grenades while wielding a boomshield. In most concerns, grenades seem to be considered as a special category of weapon and as an exception case in this boardgame – and after all, you don't need both hands to throw a grenade. I think I would allow it to use bolo grenades while carrying a boomshield. But that's a question the game designer should be asked. I hope the upcoming FAQ will address this question. 

 

 

No need to wait for next FAQ, as it is in the current one:

Q: Can a player use “Bolo Grenades” while wielding the
“Boomshield”?
A: No.

 

I need ONE HAND to use a pistol. I need ONE HAND to use a bolo granade. (?!)



#7 Tromdial

Tromdial

    Member

  • Members
  • 580 posts

Posted 05 March 2012 - 05:11 AM

neu.descolado said:

I need ONE HAND to use a pistol. I need ONE HAND to use a bolo granade. (?!)

Apparently COGs Olympian "hammer throw" their bolo grenades at a max range of 2.

I don't remember how Gears 2 worked and if you can use both boomshield and bolo grenades together, but my assumption is it is too hard to throw a bolo while wielding a boomshield, as your dealing with a big, heavy sheet of metal that could obstruct the throw.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS