Jump to content



Photo

Question on focusing...


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Phiveball

Phiveball

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 12 October 2011 - 02:06 AM

I couldn't find the answer elsewhere so any help would be appreciated.

Are you able to focus a die even if you completed a task? In other words, if you complete a task on your first roll and on of the unused dice would be useful for the other tasks on the adventure card, can you focus it and use it on your next roll as you continue on in the adventure card? I've played both ways and my gut tells me that you cannot do this, but sometimes it's too tempting. I think I've changed this rule multiple times during the same game. Maybe thats why I keep winning

Also, can there be more than one monster on an adventure card if the card does not have space designated for it?  I read in another thread that some players just pile them all on one card that they have no intention of attempting. I go by the rule that you first fill up the cards with the white monster markings, then one on each of the cards that have none, so the monsters are always evenly spread. I do try to pick cards that make it possible to complete.  I find that in some cases when you put certain monsters on certain cards you simply cannot complete all of the tasks because there are not enough dice in the game, even with the red and yellow.

 



#2 Phantom287

Phantom287

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts

Posted 12 October 2011 - 04:57 AM

Phiveball said:

 

I couldn't find the answer elsewhere so any help would be appreciated.

Are you able to focus a die even if you completed a task? In other words, if you complete a task on your first roll and on of the unused dice would be useful for the other tasks on the adventure card, can you focus it and use it on your next roll as you continue on in the adventure card? I've played both ways and my gut tells me that you cannot do this, but sometimes it's too tempting. I think I've changed this rule multiple times during the same game. Maybe thats why I keep winning

Also, can there be more than one monster on an adventure card if the card does not have space designated for it?  I read in another thread that some players just pile them all on one card that they have no intention of attempting. I go by the rule that you first fill up the cards with the white monster markings, then one on each of the cards that have none, so the monsters are always evenly spread. I do try to pick cards that make it possible to complete.  I find that in some cases when you put certain monsters on certain cards you simply cannot complete all of the tasks because there are not enough dice in the game, even with the red and yellow.

 

 

 

If you succesfully completed one of the tasks you cannot focus a die, you are only allowed to focus if you fail at completing any of the tasks on the card. If you want to use a result from the dice roll you just had, you'll need to have already cast a spell to lock at least one of the die with the result you're looking for to help complete one of the other tasks. If you, however, are a player that seems to succeed at multiple tasks in one roll, I would suggest using Amanda Sharpe since her ability is just what you're looking for.

When a monster appears, you must put it on a white marker of your choice on any of the adventure cards. If there are no white markers of any kind to place monster markers, then you place them at the bottom of an adventure card of your choice, you can either pile them all up in one location (which removes the challenge) or you can spread the monsters around the cards so that they aren't all piling up on one, often non important, adventure card (much more challenging) either way is right, but the later adds to the challenge.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS