Jump to content



Photo

Spells that allow 2 dice. How do you use them?


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Ocracoke

Ocracoke

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 11 October 2011 - 05:42 PM

After placing two dice on a spell that allows it, do you have to use both on the same task?  Can you just use one, save the other for another task? This would treat it like  two single spells and make the game easier. Guess the other option is to use one die and discard the card and unused die, but, this seems wrong. If you have to use both at the same time you would have to look a lot harder to  find another adventure card with the right task that could use both if you ended up not needing them on the current task(s). This makes the two dice spell harder to use, but, could come in handy with the right adventure cards displayed.



#2 Byga

Byga

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 12 October 2011 - 09:53 PM

You may spend the dice one at a time or together.

When the spell runs out of dice (because they've been either used or locked by another effect) it is discarded. Not before.

Also the rules say that at the first roll after the spell has been cast you must choose one of the dice and put it on the spell.

This means that when you cast Dread Curse of Azatoth (the only spell with room for two dice) you're obliged to fill one slot, storing the second die is up to you.

This is what the wording of the rules strictly says. Then you may want to house rule that such a terrible and powerful spell like the Dread Curse (Mythos spells are always a double-edged knife) can give you a big power but an heavy cost and because of this you must fill both slots.

This is up to you...

Cheers

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS