Jump to content



Photo

basic question about commiting players


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 chainsaw_ash

chainsaw_ash

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 11 October 2011 - 11:45 AM

Hi

the rule book seems to contradict the ffg video tutorial. From the rule book page 8

Matchup Phase

Commit One Player to a Matchup: The manager takes one Player card from his hand and places it face up next to a matchup.

(In the video it seems to me that a manager plays 2 players to the same highlight at some point.)

So my questions are 

1. once a manager plays a player and after it's  "come into play" effects and "skill effects" resolve, does play pass onto the next manager (say to the first manager's left  ( btw I can't see anywhere in the rules which states which way play passes to,) who then can play a player card from their hand  to the same or a different highlight with play passing on  to the remaining managers thus.

ie each manager can only play one player per turn.

2. Or does the first manager, play a player to a highlight then the next manager plays one, with play moving round the table until it reaches the first manager again who can then play another player etc.

3. Can a manager only play to one highlight each turn or can he play to several highlights until he runs out of players?

 

thanks in advance

 



#2 Trump

Trump

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 11 October 2011 - 04:51 PM

 Aren't #1 and #2 saying the same thing?  Anyway...

 

Manager 1 assigns a player to a highlight, resolves all of that player's skills, and then uses one Matchup action if he chooses to.

Manager 2 does the same routine.

Manager 3 does the same routine.

Manager 4 does the same routine.

Manager 1 does the same routine.

etc.

etc.

This continues until a Manager chooses to stop playing players from his hand or runs out of players in his hand.  The other Managers continue to play.  Eventually, everyone will have stopped playing players and it's on to the Scoreboard Phase.

 

 



#3 The Finn

The Finn

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 12 October 2011 - 11:26 AM

chainsaw_ash said:

Hi

the rule book seems to contradict the ffg video tutorial. From the rule book page 8

Matchup Phase

Commit One Player to a Matchup: The manager takes one Player card from his hand and places it face up next to a matchup.

(In the video it seems to me that a manager plays 2 players to the same highlight at some point.)

 

I didn't notice anything wrong with the video - but the matchup phase portion doesn't clearly show player placement.. not fully.. in the video you never see a 2nd player played to a zone... it only does a single round of committing players.  Maybe the 'match up' section of the video made you think it was strictly one player on one player?

You can play 2 players to a single highlight, but each player plays ONE player at a a time.

So when play gets back to me, I can commit one player to an empty zone/sideline OR to a zone/sideline where I already have a player - and obviously you can't put players on both sides of the same highlight and 'play yourself. 
Then you do the skills on his card.
Then you can play a match up action

Then the next player goes.. and can commit to an empty zone/sideline OR to a zone/sideline where he already has a player.

After everyone has played you'll normally have 2-3 players on each side at a highlight.



#4 Mustakrakish

Mustakrakish

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 14 October 2011 - 03:51 PM

The Finn said:

chainsaw_ash said:

 

Hi

the rule book seems to contradict the ffg video tutorial. From the rule book page 8

Matchup Phase

Commit One Player to a Matchup: The manager takes one Player card from his hand and places it face up next to a matchup.

(In the video it seems to me that a manager plays 2 players to the same highlight at some point.)

 

 

 

I didn't notice anything wrong with the video - but the matchup phase portion doesn't clearly show player placement.. not fully.. in the video you never see a 2nd player played to a zone... it only does a single round of committing players.  Maybe the 'match up' section of the video made you think it was strictly one player on one player?

You can play 2 players to a single highlight, but each player plays ONE player at a a time.

So when play gets back to me, I can commit one player to an empty zone/sideline OR to a zone/sideline where I already have a player - and obviously you can't put players on both sides of the same highlight and 'play yourself. 
Then you do the skills on his card.
Then you can play a match up action

Then the next player goes.. and can commit to an empty zone/sideline OR to a zone/sideline where he already has a player.

After everyone has played you'll normally have 2-3 players on each side at a highlight.

 

I have the same confusion, our quick read of the rules led us to believe you can only commit to a highlight if there are no rival players, so we ended up with a lot of 2v1 matchups on highlights and felt this was off. Im starting to believe we played it wrong and that line we misread only means two teams can compete for a highlight, but those teams can keep playing players until they cant. This would make it seem a lot more "ball game" like by allowing the ball to move back and forth as we played various skilled players in succession from our hands to swing the highlight into our favor. 

 

Is this how its supposed to be played? Player A Commits a player, then player B commits a player to the same highlight. That means players C or D cannot commit, but players A or B can continue to play cards from their hands, resolving skills and using ability cards until they can not. 



#5 Trump

Trump

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 14 October 2011 - 05:50 PM

Mustakrakish said:

Is this how its supposed to be played? Player A Commits a player, then player B commits a player to the same highlight. That means players C or D cannot commit, but players A or B can continue to play cards from their hands, resolving skills and using ability cards until they can not. 

 

Player B doesn't have to commit to the same highlight as Player A, but we'll assume he does.  Now it's Player C's turn.  He chooses a spot to commit to.  He can't choose the highlight where A and B are already committed, but he can pick another.  Player D does the same.  Player A now adds to the battle against B at the first highlight or jumps into a new highlight, etc etc etc.



#6 Mustakrakish

Mustakrakish

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 14 October 2011 - 08:32 PM

Trump said:

Mustakrakish said:

 

Is this how its supposed to be played? Player A Commits a player, then player B commits a player to the same highlight. That means players C or D cannot commit, but players A or B can continue to play cards from their hands, resolving skills and using ability cards until they can not. 

 

 

 

Player B doesn't have to commit to the same highlight as Player A, but we'll assume he does.  Now it's Player C's turn.  He chooses a spot to commit to.  He can't choose the highlight where A and B are already committed, but he can pick another.  Player D does the same.  Player A now adds to the battle against B at the first highlight or jumps into a new highlight, etc etc etc.

 

Cool, Thanks for that. yes, I was implying that A and B had already committed to a highlight. 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS