Jump to content



Photo

Star Players


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Ryan the Lion

Ryan the Lion

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 10 October 2011 - 06:16 AM

 I just want to make sure I'm doing this right - I played my first game with 2 friends the other night.  We had Chaos, Orcs and Dwarves.  During set up, we took out all the star players.  The Orc and Chaos players shuffled theirs into the CWC deck and the dwarf shuffled his into the OWA deck.  During the course of the game, what happens if you draw star players from other races?  Can you still hire them or are you limited to your own race and the freebooters?



#2 Trump

Trump

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 10 October 2011 - 06:23 AM

Woohoo Cthulhu said:

 I just want to make sure I'm doing this right - I played my first game with 2 friends the other night.  We had Chaos, Orcs and Dwarves.  During set up, we took out all the star players.  The Orc and Chaos players shuffled theirs into the CWC deck and the dwarf shuffled his into the OWA deck.  During the course of the game, what happens if you draw star players from other races?  Can you still hire them or are you limited to your own race and the freebooters?

 

WRONG!  :)

 

There are two Star player decks.  They are NEVER altered no matter which teams are active in your game.  When a player needs to draw a Star card, he simply draws from the correct deck of the two.  For nearly every purpose, there are really only two types of cards in these decks :  Freebooters (gray) and Stars (one of three colors).  The team shown on these Star cards doesn't matter in the least.  They'll play for anyone.

 

Only one card in the game cares about the team colors of a Star Player and the Reavers have it.



#3 Ryan the Lion

Ryan the Lion

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 10 October 2011 - 09:02 AM

We both said the same thing...I think.

CWC Teams draw from the CWC Star Player Deck and the same goes for the OWA.  What I wanted to know is that if, for example, I'm playing The Gouged Eye (Orcs) and another player is playing the Chaos All-Stars (Chaos), if I draw a Chaos Star Player that was shuffled into the CWC deck during set-up, can I employ him?



#4 Ryan the Lion

Ryan the Lion

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 10 October 2011 - 09:04 AM

I think you may have read my OP as stating that each player would draw from either Star Player deck, when in actuality, I was just asking what happens when you draw a Star Player of another race from your respective division deck.



#5 MattMcD31

MattMcD31

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 10 October 2011 - 09:04 AM

I think there is at least one Staff or Team Upgrade card with an end game bonus if you only have non freebooters on the pitch at the end of the game maybe a Dwarf.

 

But think of them as Star Players who will play for any team in either the OWA or CWC respectively. Special rules for Morg n' Thorg apply as he'll play for any team in either the OWA or CWC but can only be on the field one at any given time.



#6 MattMcD31

MattMcD31

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 10 October 2011 - 09:06 AM

You just put a team token on any Star Player you have on the pitch to show you are the controller.


  • LinkavichChumofsky likes this

#7 Trump

Trump

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 10 October 2011 - 10:29 AM

Woohoo Cthulhu said:

We both said the same thing...I think.

 

The part I think we still differ on is how you make those decks.  It sounds like you're creating the Star player decks based on who's in the game.  That's not it.  You use ALL of he Star player cards all of the time.


  • LinkavichChumofsky likes this

#8 son of baal

son of baal

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 11 October 2011 - 01:29 AM

Just read the above.

 

I've only played a few games so far and have found the only sticky bit to be the *Star Players*. But haveing gone back to the rules for me page 4 holds all the answers. In Setup 2 Choose Teams: it reads "Return all Starting Player cards, Team Upgrade cards, and team tokens belonging to unmanaged teams to the game box." ( Note Starting Player and not Star Player). And in Setup 4 Prepare the Star Player Decks: it reads "Take all Star Player cards" . So for me it means take all Star Player cards from all 6 team decks managed or not and shuffle them into their respective Star Player Decks (OWA/CWC) and use the Team Tokens when you choose a Star Player (or Freebooter) of another race in your subdivision of the TMU.

This works for me what do you all think.

 


  • LinkavichChumofsky likes this

#9 Ryan the Lion

Ryan the Lion

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 11 October 2011 - 09:47 AM

Trump said:


The part I think we still differ on is how you make those decks. It sounds like you're creating the Star player decks based on who's in the game. That's not it. You use ALL of he Star player cards all of the time.

 

son of baal said:

Just read the above.

 I've only played a few games so far and have found the only sticky bit to be the *Star Players*. But haveing gone back to the rules for me page 4 holds all the answers. In Setup 2 Choose Teams: it reads "Return all Starting Player cards, Team Upgrade cards, and team tokens belonging to unmanaged teams to the game box." ( Note Starting Player and not Star Player). And in Setup 4 Prepare the Star Player Decks: it reads "Take all Star Player cards" . So for me it means take all Star Player cards from all 6 team decks managed or not and shuffle them into their respective Star Player Decks (OWA/CWC) and use the Team Tokens when you choose a Star Player (or Freebooter) of another race in your subdivision of the TMU.

This works for me what do you all think.

 

I see what you guys are saying.  I took the part about returning unused cards to the box as meaning they are no longer considered for anything and that creating the Star Player deck is done with cards in play.  This actually makes a lot more sense as, in the case of my example, it is more balanced when you have a disproportionate number of CWC to OWA teams.  Thanks for the insight!



#10 Void1984

Void1984

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 11 July 2012 - 08:47 PM

What do I do with non-freebooter Star Player after a play week?

How do you keep track of regular non-freebooter Star Player and non-freebooter Star Player who has been upgraded to freebooters by upgrade cards?



#11 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,291 posts

Posted 11 July 2012 - 10:12 PM

If you've gotten a SP earlier, he is part of your Roster until the end of the game, so if he was at a matchup, goes to discard pile and eventually gets reshuffled back to your deck and drawn, ready to be played again.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#12 Void1984

Void1984

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 12 July 2012 - 01:23 AM

 The "Gryphon-age" upgrade make the most confusion for me. How long does it last? More - how can I remember if mine Griff Oberwald is a one shot SP, or an Gryphon-age upgraded?



#13 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,291 posts

Posted 12 July 2012 - 04:11 AM

Like the card says, "Scoreboard Phase". It is only active when you're gaining Star Players, you gain them as you would if they had the Freebooter ability, allowing you to remove 1 player from the deck and put a SP in his place. Gryphon-ade doesn't give you any benefits after you've drafted the SP, namely those Upgrades that give you Fans for having Freebooters, only SPs with printed Freebooter count for those. Main point about Gryphon-ade is the ability to remove a player (like a Lineman) from your deck and replace him with a SP, keeping your deck tight, removing fodder and boosting it.


  • LinkavichChumofsky likes this

"A dirty mind is its own reward."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS