The attack sequence is incredibly sloppy and in some cases obviously wrong; notice, for example, that it tells you to check whether the attack has sufficient range to hit in step 4, but doesn't allow you to spend power enhancements or surges until step 5, which (read strictly) makes it impossible to spend enhancements or surges on range in order to turn a missed attack into a hit. Show of hands: how many people actually play like that?
I'm not sure I agree with that.
Sure, it's very badly written.
But it doesn't actually say that the attack misses outright if the range is not sufficient. It says the attack fails and no damage is done unless the player can increase the range to the minimum required range in step 5.
So as far as I can see it does not prevent you from moving to step 5 due to insufficient range, just tells you that if you still have insufficient range after step 5 then the attack will fail and no damage will be done.
So step 4, we only 'stop' if there is an X. Insufficient range, we just not that there is now a conditional on the attack (it fails if range is not sufficiently increased during step 5) and move on to step 5).
Spending surges and adding dice are both listed in the same numbered step, so that's ambiguous even if we trust the order in the rules. But suppose that we decide that the substeps occur in the order listed. OK, you spend enhancements and surges, and you might gain fatigue or threat from that, and then you might spend that same fatigue or threat to add more power dice. But the only things you can roll on those power dice are enhancements and surges...which you can no longer spend, because you're already past that substep! Your reading for opening a loophole also removes any benefit you could get by exploiting that loophole.
The only way the attack rules actually work is if you add extra power dice, then spend enhancements and surges, then check to see whether the attack hits or misses. Yes, those things are listed in the reverse order in the actual rules, but if you resolve them in the order they're written, all that happens is that you render a bunch of options completely nonfunctional. What can I say? The rulebook sucks.
Again, I disagree (not that the rulebook sucks of course).
There is another way that the rules there work perfectly well. In fact, I think you are actually misapplying them to create the difficulty (not deliberately of course).
The four sub-headings inside Step 5 are not apparently ordered, numbered, sequenced or sub-stepped.
If the attacker has not rolled a miss result, it is possible for the attacker to modify the rolled range and damage through one or more of the methods described below.
They are just a list of methods that can be used to modify the attack result (which is X range, Y damage, Z specials). So why can you not use them in any order so desired, even intermingling them?
I don't see anything that stops you using the first listed method to add some range, then the second listed method to add some more range, then the fourth listed method to roll additional dice, then using the first or second listed method to add more range from the newly added dice.
It's not like these are substeps a, b, c and d, or i, ii, iii and iv.
The FAQ ruling on Dodge timing is not the only way it possibly could have been ruled, but it's definitely the simplest, and it's completely consistent with the way the rest of the attack sequence obviously has to work. The only FAQ ruling I can think of that arguably screws up the attack sequence is the one saying that you can't spend surges if the attack doesn't hit anything, because you obviously can't determine whether the attack hits anything until after spending surges (despite the rulebook instructing you to do so), but IIRC the FAQ explicitly says you're supposed to go through the process of spending surges and then retroactively
cancel them if nothing is hit afterwards, so they are at least aware
that this breaks the sequence. Which is better than they did when actually writing the sequence in the first place.
Again, I actually disagree. I don't even think it's the simplest way it could work, let alone consistent with the rest of the attack rules (but that's because I disagree with your description of the options in Step 5).
What would be simplest would be to allow the Dodge (or Aim) to be played, or resolved, at any time before step 5. At the time of the Dodge/Aim, any or all dice are rerolled. Then the Dodge/Aim has been resolved. Any dice added after the Dodge (or Aim) is resolved are no longer affected by the Dodge/Aim because it has already resolved.
I think that is simpler and more consistent. The main thing it does is eliminate the little guessing game of whether to throw in more dice before any roll is made just in case.
However, the FAQ says that you may not add dice after a Dodge/Aim is resolved. That is all.
So it seems to me then, that a Dodge/Aim simply removes that option from Step 5. I think you can add more dice before step 5 (pg 18 says after the attack is rolled, which means step 3 onward), but you can also explicitly add more dice during step 5.
I think we agree that a Dodge/Aim should be played before Step 5 - otherwise you can spend stuff you end up not having.
So I think that it all still works together, just barely.
If you play/use a Dodge/Aim, it must be done before step 5. If you do that, the option of adding dice is removed from step 5. If you do not play/use a Dodge/Aim before step 5, then the option of adding dice with fatigue/threat during step 5 remains, but of course the option of using a Dodge/Aim has gone because it's window is past.
The messy bit is the sentence in the FAQ "Once all dice are done being rolled, the Overlord may play the dodge card."
If we read this as being 'all dice to that point (up to step 5)' - (because we know that extra dice can be rolled in step 2s 3 and 4 if desired, and we also agree that Dodge/Aim must be played before step 5, but dice can explicitly be added during step 5) then it still works.
In summary, I think, you can spend surges for threat and that threat for extra dice (in an encounter) on any attack that is not Aimed or Dodged. And all rules are being followed, even the FAQ.
The 'difference' for me, was that I never noticed that adding dice was actually explicitly available during step 5. I always used the pg 18 reference as 'after rolling the attack' and assumed it was anything from step 3 onward (well, before step 6, and actually I always thought of it as before step 5).
As to Dark Priests, no. The GLOAQ states:
Threat and Surges
Q. Do the surges used to generate Threat for an Overlord get spent, or can they be used to activate effects? eg, the OL rolls 3 surges and has the option to use 1 Surge for 1 damage. Can the OL gather 1 Threat and +3 Damage, or only 1 Threat and +1 Damage? Clarified: Can surges used for Threat also be used for abilities?
A. Technically, you spend the 2 surges to gain 1 threat, so you can't use it for both things. With the Dark Prayer ability, you spend 1 surge to gain 1 threat, +1 Range, and +1 Damage.