Jump to content



Photo

More Questions


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 MattMcD31

MattMcD31

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 09 October 2011 - 04:25 PM

Can you use a players ability at any other time then the match up phase that you commite the player card, ie could you use Strip Ball in the round after the player was commited in addition to commiting a new player new?

Does Strip Ball work against a ball carrier with Sure Hands or Stand Firm?

Short of Strip Ball Can you attempt to injury a player that is down with Strip Ball to get the ball out?



#2 Trump

Trump

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 09 October 2011 - 04:58 PM

MattMcD31 said:

Can you use a players ability at any other time then the match up phase that you commite the player card, ie could you use Strip Ball in the round after the player was commited in addition to commiting a new player new?

Does Strip Ball work against a ball carrier with Sure Hands or Stand Firm?

Short of Strip Ball Can you attempt to injury a player that is down with Strip Ball to get the ball out?

 

No.  You can only use those icon abilities when you commit the player to a matchup.  Strip Ball is a response to using the Tackle icon.  Thus, Strip Ball is only going to happen when the player is committed.



#3 MattMcD31

MattMcD31

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 10 October 2011 - 04:15 AM

Ahh good to know. So only thinks that are reactions like Guard, Stand Firm, Sure Hands, etc could be used a later time.

 

I'm not sure these instructions are exectly intuitive, I think they could be worded and laid out much better. But its starting to make sense now.



#4 Coral Beach

Coral Beach

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 11 October 2011 - 07:59 AM

 This the difference between "when played" and "response" key words.



#5 darkwing2k6

darkwing2k6

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 13 December 2011 - 11:10 AM

so to clarify only the last "commited" card is "active"? i cannot use any of the previous committed cards UNLESS it has an out-of-turn ability eg guard

example-

i commit my human ogre as first card, opponent commits his first card,

i then commit my second card,human blitzer. can i only use the human blitzer to tackle? or can i still use the ogre to tackle and does the ogre still receive 1 cheat icon every round until the end of match phase?



#6 The Finn

The Finn

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 14 December 2011 - 03:43 AM

darkwing2k6 said:

so to clarify only the last "commited" card is "active"? i cannot use any of the previous committed cards UNLESS it has an out-of-turn ability eg guard

example-

i commit my human ogre as first card, opponent commits his first card,

i then commit my second card,human blitzer. can i only use the human blitzer to tackle? or can i still use the ogre to tackle and does the ogre still receive 1 cheat icon every round until the end of match phase?

Only the committed player is active.. correct. You place the player, you activate any "when played" ability. You use his skills (optional except cheating).. and then he's done - unless he has a response ability that activates later in the round.

So for your second example.. the human blitzer uses his tackle, the human blitzer might then get to use his response ability... and the ogre does nothing more.. no tackle, no 2nd cheat token.



#7 darkwing2k6

darkwing2k6

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 14 December 2011 - 05:47 AM

Thanks Finn, much appreciated :D






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS