Jump to content



Photo

Federation of Sol Special Ability


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Jester09

Jester09

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 October 2011 - 03:15 AM

Hi all!  We just started playing TI a few weeks ago and are in love with the depth of the game.  Cant wait to play more soon!

Our group had a question on the Fed of Sol special ability that allowed you spend one Command Counter to place 2 free Ground Forces on a planet you controled.  Two questions:

1) Can a player do this more than once per round (assuming he has enough CC in the Strategy pool)? 

2) if the answer above is yes, can you place 2 more troops on the same planet later in the round (when it comes back to you)?

We played yes to 1 but no two 2.   Whatever the answer, if there is any supporting page number or FAQ you could point me too, that would be great

Thanks!!!

Jester. 



#2 Bowoodstock

Bowoodstock

    Member

  • Members
  • 99 posts

Posted 09 October 2011 - 03:35 AM

I'd say both of them are fair.  Command counters aren't cheap, so it's not like you're getting infinite ground forces, and there is nothing that says you can't do it more than once on the same planet.  All it says is "a planet you control".



#3 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 551 posts

Posted 10 October 2011 - 01:12 AM

I concurr with Bowoodstock. Since the power does NOT say "once per game round" it would be legal to shuffle ALL your CC's into Strategy Allocation and use an entire game round to cram out GF's on Mecatol Rex with them every single turn except one (SC action) until you run out oc CC's.

Maybe not a good move, but perfectly legal.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#4 Jester09

Jester09

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 October 2011 - 01:30 AM

Thanks for the quick answers!  Good to know we got it half right at least <grin>

Jester



#5 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,638 posts

Posted 10 October 2011 - 12:05 PM

Jester09 said:

1) Can a player do this more than once per round (assuming he has enough CC in the Strategy pool)? 

2) if the answer above is yes, can you place 2 more troops on the same planet later in the round (when it comes back to you)?

I agree with the others, both of these are perfectly legal options.  In fact, I would go so far as to say the extra GFs aren't even the best part about this ability.  Rather, the ability to strategically burn an action in a manner similar to, though much more restricted than, the Yssaril "skip" ability can be a powerful benefit all on its own, if used at the right time.  The fact that you get two more GFs on a planet you control is just cake.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS