Jump to content



Photo

Does zero beat nothing?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 patadin

patadin

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 October 2011 - 08:17 PM

 Okay, we have a couple of games under our belt so far this this game rocks! We did have one situation come up that we need some clarity on. In a match where one team has their only player removed because of a whistle (cheaters never win, oh wait….) and the opponent only has one player remaining and they are down with a star value of zero - does the lone player earn the middle reward?  (Is the zero star value greater than the 'nothing' of the missing opponent?). I think it is the same answer for if there is only one participant in a match but I can't find that answer either - although I thought it was in the rules.

Otherwise, a very enjoyable game so fare. 

50 fans is hour highest total so far (in a three player game). 

Patrick



#2 Coral Beach

Coral Beach

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 08 October 2011 - 06:27 AM

In additional rules page 16 "A manager must commit at least one player to a matchup in order to be considered either the winner or the loser". So a 0 Star Power from a downed player is enough for me.



#3 MunkeyKungFu

MunkeyKungFu

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 08 October 2011 - 06:59 AM

 If the only player is sent off then they have no players and therefore are not considered to have participated once the cheating has been resolved. So the zero player would win and the one who was sent off would not even class as having participated in the highlight


Growing X-Wing Collection:

Rebels - 5x X-Wing, 2x B-Wing, 1x A-Wing, 1x HWK, 1x YT130, 1x Transport

Imperial - 5x Tie Fighters, 2x Bombers, 3x Interceptors, 1x Advanced


#4 CrazySkindog88

CrazySkindog88

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 October 2011 - 12:42 AM

patadin said:

50 fans is hour highest total so far (in a three player game). 

 

We had a skaven player score 84(ish) points in one game of 4 players, he just horded staff upgrades & went from 50ish points to 80+ in the end of game phase!!!



#5 LordZon

LordZon

    Member

  • Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 11 October 2011 - 05:33 PM

He couldn't possibly have that many upgrades.  When you draw more than one of something durring a highlight or tourneyment you choose one of them and put the rest on the bottom of the deck.  If you get more than one team upgrade or staff upgrade from DIFFRENT matchups you get to keep them both.

We were over looking that rule when we started. 



#6 Coral Beach

Coral Beach

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 11 October 2011 - 08:02 PM

From different payouts, not different match-up. If you have a team zone with Staff upgrade payout (1 between X) AND a central payout with Staff upgrade too (1 between Y), you will have 2 Staff Upgrades cards at the Revealing step even if you participated and win at only one match-up.



#7 Mindhead

Mindhead

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 13 October 2011 - 07:38 AM

Don't forget that in your example where the single player gets kicked out for cheating, then the opposing downed 0 star player actually scores all three payout due to being unopposed.

Therefore leaving a single cheating player in a matchup is really risky.



#8 Mustakrakish

Mustakrakish

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 14 October 2011 - 03:33 PM

Mindhead said:

Don't forget that in your example where the single player gets kicked out for cheating, then the opposing downed 0 star player actually scores all three payout due to being unopposed.

Therefore leaving a single cheating player in a matchup is really risky.

 

is this true? I interpreted this as a state based check, IE: when you start the scoreboard phase, those players are considered there for the purposes of winning. So even if that person is ejected, they were still in the team zone at the start of the phase, or do you check the state at each step in the phase? 

 

if its the latter, then your words would be the true way to play it (and that came up today in a game)



#9 The Finn

The Finn

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 14 October 2011 - 07:17 PM

Mustakrakish said:

Mindhead said:

 

Don't forget that in your example where the single player gets kicked out for cheating, then the opposing downed 0 star player actually scores all three payout due to being unopposed.

Therefore leaving a single cheating player in a matchup is really risky.

 

 

 

is this true? I interpreted this as a state based check, IE: when you start the scoreboard phase, those players are considered there for the purposes of winning. So even if that person is ejected, they were still in the team zone at the start of the phase, or do you check the state at each step in the phase? 

 

if its the latter, then your words would be the true way to play it (and that came up today in a game)

 

As the rules stand it's accurate - based on the timing of the scoreboard phase - and it's the way we've been playing in our group.

1a - reveal cheat tokens
1c - determine winner
1d - collect payouts (it is state based, but this is when you consider the state)

 



#10 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,284 posts

Posted 14 October 2011 - 07:51 PM

What would be the point (negative) about cheating if getting Ejected still meant you contribute your Star Power ? I've also played it in order listed in the rules, like The Finn, ejected means tossed out, doesn't contribute anything toward Determine Winner.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#11 Mustakrakish

Mustakrakish

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 14 October 2011 - 08:30 PM

Dam said:

What would be the point (negative) about cheating if getting Ejected still meant you contribute your Star Power ? I've also played it in order listed in the rules, like The Finn, ejected means tossed out, doesn't contribute anything toward Determine Winner.

 

I never said they contributed their star power, I just said it wouldn't allow the manager to collect all the zones, they'd still win. apparently you check the state later than I thought.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS